You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ReSTEEM-BOT : Introduction

in #resteembot7 years ago (edited)

I don't know if any of that makes this decentralized, to be honest. Just because data associated with the app gets stored in the blockchain doesn't mean the app is decentralized. This reply I'm writing now is going in the blockchain, but does that mean I am decentralized?

To be decentralized, it seems like a minimum requirement should be something like this: you should have no single point of failure. Even if a witness is running the code, if that witness shuts it down the whole app would be dead in the water.

So what if all the witnesses are running the code and they take turns executing the contract? That would make it more decentralized, but consider this: what if the owner of the re-steem bot account suddenly changes his private key? Then every time the witnesses running the code try to re-steem a post, the transaction would be rejected, and we would have found another single point of failure.

So to actually build this as a decentralized app, you would also need to make sure that the permissions of the re-steem bot account were also decentralized. At that point, nobody would actually own the bot, so who would you send the payments to?

I get into this stuff - I think decentralization theory is really interesting, just like you. If you like thinking about this, I'd say it makes you curious. :)

Sort:  

To be decentralized, it seems like a minimum requirement should be something like this: you should have no single point of failure.

This is a good one!

Changing your private/public key is changing who you are no? Is like shooting yourself in the foot. This is more about ownership but maybe a better example would be multisig or that you break a key into pieces so that if it gets stolen then nothing is really lost, as others a guarding the rest of it. I'm not sure but Criag Wright talked about it in the latest Future of bitcoin presentation.

I get into this stuff - I think decentralization theory is really interesting, just like you. If you like thinking about this, I'd say it makes you curious. :)

Nice, I'll be posting in a few hours that what was uploaded just 10% last time, I'll be curious to know what you think :)

Here's that post I talked about. Basically I think how we can flow upvotes (money) through 'curation' to the original creator even when it was linked.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76