Steemit Restaurant Review! The Classic & Popular Dish Of The Viennese Cuisine - Der Tafelspitz

in #restaurants7 years ago (edited)
Today I will announce winners of my little food challenge the other day and also introduce a couple of restaurants in Vienna. One is close by, in an area where I live at the moment. So! You probably can imagine how often you see me with friends or guests eating mind-blowing Austrian "goodies"!

Many visitors are of course always asking me, where to eat the best food. I had to explore myself because I didn't really know after my return to Vienna. You better be prepared if you wish to be a good airbnb host.
IMG_9010.jpg

Vienna feels like Brooklyn for me with the industrial feeling of those "Bierboegen"!
HipstamaticPhoto-536699877.401714.jpg

This is a perfect shot for the "indigosaturday"
OriginalPhoto-536699846.147313.jpg

That's the way from U6 Subway Stop "Spittelau" to various restaurants in this unique area, I really love a lot, especially in summer when you can sit outside.
OriginalPhoto-536699684.442014.jpg

OriginalPhoto-536699787.170826.jpg

OriginalPhoto-536699675.588918.jpg

Spittelau Waste Incineration Plant in Vienna designed by Eco-Architect Friedensreich Hundertwasser

IMG_4106.jpg

I am not eating a lot of meat and since I lived in SE-Asia for nearly two decades, I got used to a simple diet of tropical fruits, veggies in combination of rice but I have to confess that I am obviously true to my Austrian roots, enjoying the traditional "Koestlichkeiten", I was raised with in my home.

I love good food more than the gym:)
I gained weight since I am back in Wien but thats ok......Back to "Rubens- Figur!
IMG_0612.JPG

If you are not Vegetarian, I suggest to eat at least once the popular "Tafelspitz" and here is where I found the best ones so far. I am sure there are many other places as well.

Tafelspitz (German Tafelspitz, literally meaning tip (of meat) for the table) is boiled veal or beef in broth, served with a mix of minced apples and horseradish. Although pork seems ubiquitous in Viennese cuisine nowadays, beef also has a long tradition hereabouts – as tastily proven by the Tafelspitz (boiled fillet of beef haunch). - Source Wien.info
IMG_4139.jpg

The Menu looks like a magazin at Brandauer and you will find many delicious and huge meals.
I never leave without my "Doggie-bag".
HipstamaticPhoto-536699998.728146.jpg

  1. Brandauers Bierboegen in Spittelau

1190 Vienna, Heiligenstädter Str. 31
Telephone: +431/367 68 69
Opening hours: daily from 10am - 1am
HipstamaticPhoto-536699866.598806.jpg

HipstamaticPhoto-536699915.531597.jpg

There are smoking & non-smoking areas
IMG_4141.jpg

Die Sternensinger!
IMG_4135.jpg

2)Platchutta in Hietzing

Auhofstraße 1, 1130 Vienna/+43/187770870
IMG_0604.JPG

Emperor Franz Joseph made boiled beef hugely popular when he declared that it was his favourite meal. Vienna attained a unique international position early on with the typical small cuts of beef. Among the many beef delicacies, it is undoubtedly the Tafelspitz that has achieved the greatest fame.- Text & Image Source from Platchutta's Website
IMG_0590.jpg

I asked! You answered! Thank You! Danke schoen!

Trying The Quick Post Feature On Busy.Org. Who Knows The Name Of The Famous Viennese, Non Vegetarian Deliciousness?

Here are the winners who knew the name of the famous Viennese dish called "Tafelspitz" and I will let you know where you can get one if you come to visit my hometown.

I will transfer a small SBD gift for all of You! I promised 1 SBD for the winner but there are a few of you who deserve this reward.

@stayoutoftherz (54) : Tafelspitz
@madlenfox (61) : "tafelspitz", "naturnal", "twinspace", a Tyrolean "grostl" ... it's all the Deliciousness
@yaan (57) : Very tender beef boiled in broth, served with a mixture of minced apples and horseradish (sometimes carrots). Tafelspitz?
@magnata (56) : To be in Vienna and not to taste Viennese coffee, not to eat tafelspitz and Viennese schnitzel is a crime.
@sciencevienna (50) : Tafelspitziger Zufallsgenerator für die Ermittlung des Gewinners als Nachtisch? :P
@martinamartini (47) : Tafelspitz
@jillustrations (51) TAFELSPITZ NOMNOMNOMNOMNOM~~~~! ...now I'm homesick again. damn you woman! XD

Image source from Platchutta Website
rind_en.jpg

You find the recipe HERE

Ingredients:
1 round of beef, approx. 2 kg (with a little fat)
approx. 750 g beef bones, 3 carrots, 3 turnips/parsnips,1 small celeriac, 1 onion, 2 bay leaves, 10 peppercorns, 2 juniper berries, salt and chopped chives for decoration

I hope you enjoyed and I see you soon in Vienna for a feast with me

Yours @mammasitta

Follow also my minnow profile @massivevibration to keep on spreading those MassiVe Vibes.

Feel free to join my steemit chat channels at "mammasittas, austria, massivevibrations, baliohbali" to post your links.

I am supporting Austrian authors and invite You for the discord "steemit-austria" channel https://discord.gg/pqFY4aK
U5dsvACCa1QMKCy9WQ2KqVpKoWZcHAM_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81