New Year’s Resolution | Short Update On Things

in #resolution5 years ago

1CovergoalsC.jpg

I wrote a summary back in December of some resolutions I wanted to make public. Felt like it was time for a random update on how things are going.

Read more Books

Have not quite been taking an hour a week to read more books. Still, I have been reading more weeks then I have not. So an improvement over last year. Which is really the whole point behind this one.

Been thinking of reading more from Michio Kaku so that will more than likely be my next thing.

I have been considering digital subscriptions to libraries or just buying ebooks. While I really love the psychical printed medium I’m just not making the time to go pick up any.

Growing Plants

Got a very budget but a little more modern camera a while back that is an improvement over what I was using. The PixPro Fz43 deals a lot better with lower light situations then what I was using.

While many seem to be starting to set up seeds indoors. I have not started yet and with how warm the weather is here I’m sure I could do so outdoors. I’ve not quite worked out my full plans and will more than likely be going with buying plants instead of trying to grow seeds. I will be allotted the same amount of space as I did last year which is not a lot.

Budgeting has more than been set aside so that is not going be holding anything back.

Otherwise, I still got some stuff out there still trying to grow! They are not in a great stat and I can't be bothered to go get a photo of it right now!

Test Out More Dapps

dapps.png

I have given more dapps a try this year than last year. While some of them have been around games I also now using one to post my gaming content to for a more personal blog feel.

I’m not in the biggest hurry to try out more at this time. I have changed my focus a bit on where I want to invest my time.

Spend Less Time Around Steem

beach2C.jpg

I started off strong for a couple weeks into the year when I failed this one entirely. Recent steps will get me back on board to this. I’ve had a few very late nights. While I don’t mind the weekends being like that every night is just harmful and cutting into my life and productivity.

I have this year gotten out more than I had by this time of year last year. So that is an improvement. I went to the beach, had some bonfires, and so forth. I have some plans in the summertime which will help.

Increased My OutReach

I have been taking this one slow as I don’t want to be overwhelmed with too much going on at once.

Twitter

twitter.png

I’m up to 34 followers and getting around 57k impressions In a 28-day cycle. At least things are moving along on that platform. Most of my impressions are from my engagement on other people’s tweets. I have targeted a few places of interest where there are gamers and some of them will be playing similar games as I do.

Going keep going this direction towards growing out my Twitter

Instagram

instagram.png

It has been a total bust so far. To be fair I only created one thing over there and after looking into it. It seems gaming screenshots are not a big thing. I have 0 followers and I’m not quite sure how you are supposed to “grow” it's kind of strange over there.

Seems to be a lot of paid shared content from bigger accounts to get followers. In fact, just about everything I’ve looked into those people seems to be selling advertisement space by sharing your content on their account.

I do need to spend more time trying to grow this if I think It had enough value for the content I’m involved in. I’m still unsure.

My first post was writing up a short little story with the screenshot. Which is my plan for that platform.

Other Stuff

Will be putting in more effort elsewhere as I move forward. For now, I’m least trying not to bite off too much and not invest any attention to what I already have.

Website

website.png

I’ve expanded this resolution into its own category. I was not sure if I was going to at the start of the year but engrave has opened up this option and I consider it “my own site” at https://enjargames.dblog.org/

This will enable me to get around other platforms automatics censorship if they are trying to filter out Steem, crypto and other stuff better.

I have taken massive strides this year to work on this part as stated in posts like Basic SEO among other posts.

At this time since it posts my content to the blockchain, I have no plans to repost my older content. So only new gaming content will get posted over there. I may also opt not to include some content due to SEO.

According to my google analytics in less than a month I’ve had over 300 page views (1). People have also come across my content over 125 times in google search results (1). I have gotten a couple of clicks but my content still has a very low position due to how new my site is and me still working on getting traffic to it along with other SEO reasons.

Increase Revue Sources

So far this has not gotten very far mostly due to the groundwork being in very early stages.

Most times people want more revenue but they just don’t have much motivation behind it or reason. Ideal I want to increase my yearly gaming budget to around $5k to 10k a year. The bulk of that is going be on some business trips for some fun stuff I want to grow this into. Along with the hardware, software and acquiring more games than I currently can under my current budget.

I have upgraded my keyboard and mouse which has increased my quality of life for creating content dramatically.

Next up I plan on increasing my storage capacity and upgrade my backup solutions. Acquiring 4 TB of additional storage and a new SSD should keep me going for a while.

Beyond that upgrading my monitor, headset, and building a new computer is going to be the next things. If I can build a new computer between the end of this year to the middle of 2020. I would be happy about that. The current system I am using I built that around a very low budget. I have been very blessed for what it is doing for me and how big of an upgrade it was from my last build.

GET SHIT DONE

I’ve been doing lots of shit not so much so sure on getting done part. I will keep doing so!

At Least 10 Full Game Reviews/Overviews

I have so far really dropped the ball on this one.

Even if I consider this as one of them Basic Overview Of Betrayal that still leaves me trailing behind.

I had a couple of games I never made time for a review and now my brain is a bit foggy on the finer details.

I consider this still more than reasonable to do. In fact, once I get up and running that number is going be a joke one day only taking a couple of months to put out that many.

Starting A New Business

What I had in mind flat fell out of the sky. I never really gave it great detail in my New Year’s Resolution post and I’m not going here either. This is all part of setting goals in life not everything pans out.

3k Followers On Steem

Seeing as how I stated at around 1420 and I’m only at 1447 now this goal is dead in the water.

I’m also not putting so much effort anymore trying to grow on Steem. My effects have become more external over the past month instead of internal to just steem.

Learning Some Coding

I downloaded the Unreal Engine a little while back for some self-learning and testing purpose. This is not so much as a “this is what I picked to go with” I’m still very much just early baby steps and I wanted to experience some different things then I have before in the past.

Final Thoughts

It has been a bumpy year so far on a few fronts from real life to content creation. Some things have failed and fallen over while others I’m hoping to see better clarity in their direction towards the end of 2019.

Life is always filled with more failures then success and that is what keeps it interesting while admittedly very frustrating.

Information

Content is written by @enjar. The cover and beach photo was taken by me. Rest are screenshots of my own pages.

(1) https://analytics.google.com/analytics/web/

Sort:  

Nice update. I think you doing the right things, looking outside steem. It just takes time.

Posted using Partiko Android

It’s going better then I expected. Hoping to start seeing some results in 6 to 12 months.

@paulag As I have feared. Google as started to omit and remove from indexing my non-steemit links in favor of only showing my steemit links. Doh!

bummer, no way. how did you spot it?

@paulag I noticed a few things going on.

crawlstats.png

Crawl stats dropped down to just hitting up the site twice. While that has happened in the past I have enough content over there now that I felt that was odd.

My total impressions stats updated and it had a zero hits day listed. This page is outdated by a couple of days but that seemed odd as well.

While my site and pages are new and that does happen there was a real lack of keywords being search for a few things that should have should have had some rankings. So I took a deeper look.

excluded.png

The coverage page started to show a few being excluded. It’s also a page that does not update very often.

I manually checked all my urls on google to discover a few not showing up. Since I manually request a crawl to them all to get them indexed in the first place they should have been showing up. I have ask to see if there a way to submit a site map on the site now. Not quite sure how that works but maybe that will fix things.

omitted.png

Then I started running manual google searches that should have resulted in my content being showed up in top 1 to 10th ranking. There was a “some search results have been omitted.” They were showing my Steemit links and omitting the website links on a couple.

So strange this steemkr thing has higher ranking and is being shown over many of my own stuff. In fact that seems to be an issue with a lot of the content I looked into. With other steem sites listing a users content but not the main site that user posted from that I've known people to use (steemit, busy to all the others). Our own steem eco system seems to be quite fractured with all the choices people have to view content on. Must be giving google quite the question mark in how to rank things.

You need to report that to engrave. Im using steempress, which allows me post only a small portion of my blog to steem. I have it set to 250 characters and a link back to my site. This way google will see my blog as the original. Also i could delay posting to steem till the post has been indexed on my site first, but i dont bother with that.

Im after double checking mine just in case and its all good. Really go speak with engrave as they may have a solution in the pipeline

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 190 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @enjar!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.640 which ranks you at #1693 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 330 contributions, your post is ranked at #72.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23