Netocracy - New Beginnings - Are you ready!

in #reputation8 years ago (edited)

How many of us has made this statement…

If only I could start over ... I would've done things differently?

Life does not give you the chance to begin over. You are a result of your own history and experiences. The good thing is that we grow our experiences everyday of our lives. New things happen to each of us, and this can be good things or bad things. These experiences then shape our personalities into what we are today…


Image Credit

NETOCRACY was a term invented by the editorial board of the American technology magazine Wired in the early 1990s. A portmanteau of Internet and aristocracy, netocracy refers to a perceived global upper class that bases its power on a technological advantage and networking skills, in comparison to what is portrayed as a bourgeoisie of a gradually diminishing importance.

What I love most about this platform, is that information comes to you. I am learning new things on a daily basis. I haven't posted about building our reputations on the platform for quite some time, but when I read Cryptogee's post Netocracy - The rise of the new elite , I realise now even more, how important it is to build a good reputation on this platform. To be honest, this is the main thing you should be focusing on right now. We are still in VERY early days and we still have a long path to our end destinations, whatever or where-ever that might be.

We can all start over today

When we go back to my earlier statement or let's make it a question? Would you have done everything in your life exactly the same, should you have the opportunity to start over and do it again? I have heard many people say that they had a wonderful life and they would not have done anything different, but I have my doubts if they really mean that.

If you are a new user on the platform, you have the opportunity to start over today! You can be whoever you want to be from today. You are not [INSERT REAL NAME HERE], you are @dragonmaster123234 or you are @qwerty or you are @serioustruth or @whateveryouronlinenameis.

This new online personality of yours, do not have any history or experiences linked to it at all yet. You have not built a history on this platform yet, and here reputation is everything. You should think carefully about what I am saying, as this is a huge statement to make! You are in control of your own destiny from today!

You can be a "Baddy", which just make silly comments on nice articles. You can build an irritating online personality, you can be whoever you like!

I have realised recently than a lot of people are better writers, than speakers. Why?

Because when you say something, only the few people standing around you listens to your current conversation. Then your voice disappears into thin air … literally.

In contrast to this, whatever you say on this platform, are here …forever.

I have made various posts about Building a reputation, please take some time to read this if you have not read this as yet.
Steemit is a reputation economy
The language of content - we all need to learn to speak it
The new reputation system

We are experiencing and basically in the middle of a social media revolution and the real birth of the internet of value! I have read somewhere recently, that the internet is the printing press of the upcoming netocracy and that Netocracy is based on very basic ideologies, of which the most important is Transparency. Another great aspect of Netocracy is that it you are not defined by how wealthy you are. It is more about how much influence you have in the digital world. I am not refereeing to hacking or social engineering. I am referring to your reputation. Build a good reputation while you can. If you have done some incorrect things with this personality, ensure that you rectify this. We can all build and mold our new online persona, but should seriously refer to our history of experiences.

Think what you say, before you say it, as you can't take it back…

Your words are written into the digital version of your personality … forever.

“The chief beauty about time
is that you cannot waste it in advance.
The next year, the next day, the next hour are lying ready for you,
as perfect, as unspoiled,
as if you had never wasted or misapplied
a single moment in all your life.
You can turn over a new leaf every hour
if you choose.”
― Arnold Bennett


Please follow me on my blog @jacor if you enjoy my topics and content.

@jacor features authors to promote a diversity of content and new authors. All STEEM Dollars for these posts go to the featured author.

If you are looking to be featured as an author, please contact me via email - [email protected]


Sort:  

This is a great piece that outlines really well what I feel. We have a chance to take back the means of our expression, an expression that has been heavily censored really throughout time. I wish there was more understanding about what this platform is really doing, because it isn't just some money machine it's a reinvention, and in a year's time we're going to look back and mark this network as the start of some significant change.

The internet is indeed freeing up beings in many ways. It acts like a mirror, letting us know that our ideas of ourselves, each other and other things in the world are not as rigid as we once believed. I feel it is a great tool to allow one to reflect more easily and deeply about the world around oneself and allows us to respond more fluidly and broadly. Furthermore, out of many of the uses for blockchain tech i've seen Steemit has the greatest potential so far to allow us to do this and bring about a true Netocracy.

Hi @onesunbeingnow , I have learnt more in the past month or so than in quite some time. I believe that Steem has taken many of the steps in the direction of making a true Netocracy

Its takes a healthy social network for a blockchain tech and its token of monetary value to work effectively I feel. That is why Steem/Steemit has best potential at the moment to break new ground, to become truly mainstream. It could encompass social media, music store, even a commodities market. So it has a lot of bright light ahead of it for sure.

Beautiful words by Arnold Bennett! And your words are no less profound in meaning, @jacor! Thanks you!

I really enjoyed this article. And since I'm not familiar enough to this "netocracy" topic, I'll definitely read Cryptogee's post.

Indeed, reputation is increasingly gaining value. Because news travels faster than ever before. After all nowadays instead of pigeons there're fiber optic cables and satellites ;)

In other words, information moves faster and faster. So as soon as you say something, it spreads all over the world. And thus responsibility for the words becomes higher. Now every word everyone knows. And this is a good incentive to learn to live more responsibly and consciously.

@omfedor, this is truly an interesting subject, that I think we should all pursuit and learn more about. The world is getting smaller and smaller!

Reputation is key, and Steemit's system seems to be working, in terms of allowing other users to see who is providing value and who is leeching off others. So yes, it is very important to build, and protect ones reputation, as a means to contribute as much as possible. It's still so new here, perfect time to get in and develop.

You get it @naquoya , we are still a VERY small community on steemit in comparison to Facebook and the likes. This platform makes sense to me. We are early adopters and the best is yet to come. Build your reputation!

Great words @jacor, steemit offered to some of us a second chance to do things differently, unlike other social networks here it is more important honesty and be as transparent as possible to build a good reputation, I mean here the more you are yourself is better.

I fully agree. But I am one of the people that write better than I speak. So I use what I've learnt in life and apply it here!

Good post and very interesting

Thanks for this post, enjoyed!

The ideas and ideologies that have attempted to explain identity have deep roots. I focus on identity in this comment because I think it is at the core of your assertion(s). Most explanations of identity are often followed by an argument that seeks to persuade or influence the listener or reader of a particular point of view. Not often does one find that argument FOR a value proposition in a reputation marketplace​. I applaud your article and hope others found it as encouraging as I have.

Cheers

Thank you very much for the kind words @tad-auker . It is really appreciated.

these are interesting concepts, thank you for the post!

My online personality and real personality are exactly the same. This is one of the few social media pages that I haven't used my own name. But I completely understand what you are saying. You are given a SECOND (or third, fourth, fifth) CHANCE to do something right. :)

Hi @onetree , My online personality is also not different from my real personality. What I did find however is that when I write, I tend to think things through a bit more than when I have conversation in general.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68