Christianity in Russia. Why am I not a Christian?

in #religion7 years ago

Yes, that’s right. I’m not a Christian. I’m not baptized. I’ve never been to church in my whole life. And I don’t feel like going there now.

There is a rise of the popularity of Christianity in the current Russia. I see many people wearing crosses around their necks, I hear about Christian festivals on the news, I watch Putin visiting a church and meeting with the Patriarch. This summer the relics of Saint Nicholas were brought to Moscow, and people were queueing for hours to kiss them and prey.
h_53537696-1280x817.jpgI am not sure why Christianity is becoming popular again. Maybe it is happening out of fashion, or maybe by being Orthodox Christians Russians (or Russian government) are attempting to re-establish National Identity that almost disappeared after the collapse of the Soviet Union. Whatever the reason is, personally I do not like what is happening in Russia now.

Recently the president of Russian Academy of Education, Lyudmila Verbitskaya (I am sorry if I made some spelling mistakes in her name), suggested that some works of Tolstoy and Dostoyevsky should be removed from the school program, explaining that children “might not understand their deepness”. She believed that it would be better if students had to read the Bible instead. MK

Soon there will be a premiere of the film “Matilda” in Russian movie theaters. “Matilda” tells us a story about the last tsar Nicolai the Second and his lover Matilda. The Russian Orthodox Church stated that this movie represented itself an evil slender of the Holly Nicolai and called to ban it. Not only has the Orthodox Church been trying to fight this movie, but also the member of State Duma, Poklonskaya. According to her words, “Matilda” humiliates the Orthodox Christians. The movement “Christian state – Holly Russia” has threatened to burn the cinemas for showing “Matilda”.

The government is trying to promote Christianity by doing things that I mentioned above. As I can observe, it seems to be working, many people are going back to traditional values. My groupmates at university when asked what the ideal wife would be for them answered that she would need to stay at home, take care of children and not work. Well, if the government’s goal is to boost the birth rate, they are doing a pretty good job. So the Christianity, and religion in general, is just a tool to control and rule the crowd and it has always been like that.

What I dislike the most is that the government is trying to promote only Christianity? Why don’t they suggest teaching the Quran at schools, for example? Why don’t they show authorities visiting mosques? Why do they put Orthodox Christianity above all other beliefs? Aren’t we supposed to have the freedom of conscience? Why do they promote religion at all? Isn’t Russia a secular state according to its constitution? I really hope that the situation here will change.

However, I don’t adhere to Christianity not because of the current situation in Russia, but some other reasons. A true Christian is believed to be compassionate, kind, always willing to help. Are you so sure?

You find this curious fact, that the more intense has been the religion of any period and the more profound has been the dogmatic belief, the greater has been the cruelty and the worse has been the state of affairs. In the so-called ages of faith, when men really did believe the Christian religion in all its completeness, there was the Inquisition, with its tortures; there were millions of unfortunate women burnt as witches; and there was every kind of cruelty practised upon all sorts of people in the name of religion. ("Why am I not a Christian" by Bertrand Russel)

Actually, we can observe it now but by looking at Muslims. There is a great number of religious Muslims nowadays. And what are the consequences? Islamic State, terrorism, migration crisis. Even though Islam is supposed to be a peaceful religion.

I agree with almost all arguments given by Bertrand Russel in his essay. I’m not going to quote all of them, but I’ll just put the ones that seem to be the most appealing to me.

And of course, as we know, it is in its major part an opponent still of progress and of improvement in all the ways that diminish suffering in the world, because it has chosen to label as morality a certain narrow set of rules of conduct which have nothing to do with human happiness; and when you say that this or that ought to be done because it would make for human happiness, they think that has nothing to do with the matter at all. ‘What has human happiness to do with morals? The object of morals is not to make people happy.’ ("Why am I not a Christian" by Bertrand Russel)

Don’t commandments go against human nature? How many sins have you committed?

Religion is based, I think, primarily and mainly upon fear. It is partly the terror of the unknown, and partly, as I have said, the wish to feel that you have a kind of elder brother who will stand by you in all your troubles and disputes. Fear is the basis of the whole thing—fear of the mysterious, fear of defeat, fear of death. Fear is the parent of cruelty, and therefore it is no wonder if cruelty and religion has gone hand-in-hand. ("Why am I not a Christian" by Bertrand Russel)

I believe people in general are week creatures, moreover, they are not self-confident and they don’t believe in themselves, that is why they have a need to believe in someone else. Besides, humans are afraid of being alone; they want continuous support and help. And who can do that better than the Lord?

Yes, I’m not a Christian, and I don’t believe in any of world religions, but honestly, I want to think that there is God because I am afraid too. I consider myself an agnostic (one who is not committed to believing in either the existence or the nonexistence of God or a god). Anyway, I’ll learn the truth after my death.

Sort:  

I think morality and intellectual honesty are values and virtues that should come first and be above any dogmatic faith.

And by the way, isn't dogmatic faith itself an intellectual dishonesty?

Yes, I agree with you. Dogmatic faith is an intellectual dishonesty, it makes biased. And for example, I met one girl from Indonesia, and she told me she is majoring in Islam economics. How is it possible to study this discipline withing some reliogious boundaries?

One can only believe and study science, while at the same time having dogmatic faith, if he suffers from some form of cognitive dissonance.

Yeah, true. Well, cognitive dissonance is very common among all people, not only those who have dogmatic faith

Your post describes state of affairs not very different from the situation in my neck of the woods. Or all post-Communist countries of Europe. The only notable exception is Czechia which, for some apparently unexplained reason, has the largest percentage of atheists and agnostics among general population.

Really? I didn't know about that. That's interesting. Do you know where I could read something about it?

You may try with Wikipedia article "Religion in the Czech Republic". Most of the data is based on 2011 census, which tells of 34.5 % self-declared atheists compared with 10.5 % Catholics in general population.

This is world-class material.

This is truly exceptional.

@yuliana.varf I think it's too easy for an atheist like me or an agnostic like you. It's too easy just to show how bad a religion may be. We need to look also for the failed non-religious projects, like social Darwinism, communism. Isn't human rights-based democracy also in deep crisis now? Putin, Trump, Kaczynski, Orban...

How we build a society without a religion? What's new, better social glue? Especially with the current speed of technological innovations?

@assayer I apologize for my late reply.
Well, personally I don't believe in human rights-based democracy, it has never existed. No one actually cares about human rights protection, politicians just want to stay in power, pretending that they care about citizens and hiding their intentions by the words that sound good. I'm not sure if it can be changed and if it should be changed, since I have the opinion that idealistic politicians can bring even more harm than selfish ones.
As for religion, it is up to anyone to believe in God or not, but when people do believe they become more vulnurable and easier controlled and brainwashed by their government. Yes, religion has a power to unite society, but is a blindly believing crowd better than conscious individuals? And is turning to religion a good solution to current problems?

Nice post! I will follow you from now on. +upvote

Congratulations @yuliana.varf! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.77
ETH 2579.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44