You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Seven-Day Universe - A Response to @gavvet

in #religion7 years ago

Good day my frriend! I have read @gavvet's piece already thanks to your resteem earlier today and was glad to find someone giving these important questions the opportunity for discussion. I am also very pleased that you have taken the time to write an initial response and look forward to seeing what both of you have to add in future!

I would however like to question why you yourself have such faith in scientific discoveries and breakthroughs in the field of astronomy, a subject which is clearly a passion of yours and could in itself be blinding you in regard to claims made by those whom you yourself I would imagine have little access to and measured, recorded and interpreted by instrumentation that I would also imagine your access to is limited.

I know you to be a very thoughtful and kind man from the discussions we have had in the past and I admit that my knowledge on many, many subjects, including this one is limited to say the least but I myself find it hard to believe that we as men and women can calculate the age of the earth any more than we can measure the distances to stars.

I can accept that there are men and women far smarter than myself and perhaps even orders of magnitude smarter :) and I can also accept that our current knowledge is built on the knowledge of those who came before but I still can not believe in my heart that we can tell how far away a light in the sky is because it is ever more slightly blue or ever more slightly red. My personal opinion is that we are allowing ourselves to be deceived and convinced that we are insignificant in the grand scheme.

I have a great respect for the scientific method but theoretical physics and observations from telescopes in space that we can't even observe do not garner my trust and confidence easily. I do respect your thoughts, opinions and personal observations and would be very pleased if you could convince me to reign in my skepticism!:)

Thanks again!

Hope your day is going well as always!

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63697.39
ETH 3145.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83