What If I Am Wrong!

in #religion8 years ago (edited)

Cross-Barabbas church.jpg

Today I was working around my house and these thoughts came into my mind; I don't mind being thought a fool for believing in God/Christ. Then I thought... So what if I am wrong? Well, I guess I waisted my time! But what if I am right! What if the non-believer is wrong? "What does it profit a man to gain the whole world and lose his soul?" The non-believer loses everything and I have eternal life. I will take my chances!

Psalms 18:2 "The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my shield, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower."

Image: By Barabbas Road Church

Sort:  

I have a hard time believing in all the conspiracy theories around Jesus. Even his own brother was brutally murdered for telling people that He came back from the dead...i dont know too many people who would do that for a complete lie.

Agreed! Even the Muslim religion acknowledges there was a Jesus. Makes me wonder if I would have the same faith if I were told to renounce Christ or die.. Others have! Thanks for reading and taking the time to respond.

I don't think anyone should think it foolish to believe in God. Even if it's wrong, there's a great message to the world on how to make the world a better place. Anyone that doesn't agree with that is probably a fool.

Great post! ☆☆☆☆☆😎

Great point. At a minimum, I am a better person for it. Win-Win for me! I like the way you think! Thanks

I'm still wondering why those who believe would have eternal life and the non-believers not ? At this point, would God be that much vengeful and pitiless ? Or on the contrary, would God not be merciful and inclined to offer another chance ?

It's each person's choice to either be with Him or not. By choosing to not believe they are choosing to be separate from God and God allows them to choose eternal separation if that is their wish. He's not going to force you to live with Him forever if you don't want to. Some verses...
From Romans 1: For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse.

21 For although they knew God, they neither glorified him as God nor gave thanks to him, but their thinking became futile and their foolish hearts were darkened

Romans 5:8 But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

And there is but one way to eternal life:

John 14:6 Jesus told him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me."

Thank you for the comment, I take notes. I respect the belief in the sacred text, but it's difficult to understand why there would be only one way. I can't believe that God would abandon so many people. There certainly must be several paths that lead to the last one.

Ahhh Pascal's Wager. I used to use that apologetic but often the secularist will respond with the Atheist wager which follows the format (from Wikipedia).

"One version of the Atheist's Wager suggests that since a kind and loving god would reward good deeds – and that if no gods exist, good deeds would still leave a positive legacy – one should live a good life without religion.[1][2] Another formulation suggests that a god may reward honest disbelief, a reward which would then be jeopardized by a dishonest belief in the divine.[3]"

As I see it, when God quickens the soul of man, good works follow from the motive of gratitude and love for the blood He shed successfully atoning for His elect, cancelling the certificate of debt at the Cross no less. We do not attempt to obey from the motive of legal fear of judgment for we can never meet the righteous requirement of the law.

Yes, the soul that sins shall die. Just one sin and, through one man's transgression (Adam) we died. How glorious it is that through one man's righteousness, the second Adam, those that are granted repentance will live! Christ alone obtained immortality for His elect. It is finished.

Therefore, I will urge you to reconsider appealing to reward/punishment as your apologetic but rather preach Christ crucified and the truth thereof. Those who are granted ears to hear will be converted and thereafter obey for the motivation of love and to give God ALL the glory due Him.

Nevertheless, thanks for the post. It got the ol' hamster wheel spinning in my mind and reminded of a time ago. I'm more inclined to presuppositional apologetics at the moment.

John 6:39 KJVS
And this is the Father's will which hath sent me, that of all which he hath given me I should lose nothing, but should raise it up again at the last day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62178.11
ETH 2509.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66