A Skeptic Analyses, Interprets and Provides Commentary on the Holy Bible: GENESIS Chapter 12

in #religion5 years ago


Previous chapter

GENESIS Chapter 12 (KJV)




1 Now the Lord had said unto Abram, Get thee out of thy country, and from thy kindred, and from thy father's house, unto a land that I will shew thee:

I feel there is a distinct reason that it sometimes uses the title the Lord, and other times God. Whether this is a translation issue or not, to me is of no consequence, because I do not believe in coincidences, and I expect that a book considered by so many to be the word of the Creator, even if a forgery, would contain the word of the true Creator in some form or another. I have not yet picked up on why the title used changes but it has become a point of focus, and I intend to figure it out by the end of the old testament.

2 And I will make of thee a great nation, and I will bless thee, and make thy name great; and thou shalt be a blessing:

I just want to say that to me, it doesn't seem Godly, or Goodly, to want for yourself a great name - great deeds sounds like a more appropriate goal.

3 And I will bless them that bless thee, and curse him that curseth thee: and in thee shall all families of the earth be blessed.

Curse - not forgive.

4 So Abram departed, as the Lord had spoken unto him; and Lot went with him: and Abram was seventy and five years old when he departed out of Haran.

perhaps nothing but 7 and 5 add to 12, like this chapter number.

5 And Abram took Sarai his wife, and Lot his brother's son, and all their substance that they had gathered, and the souls that they had gotten in Haran; and they went forth to go into the land of Canaan; and into the land of Canaan they came.

6 And Abram passed through the land unto the place of Sichem, unto the plain of Moreh. And the Canaanite was then in the land.

7 And the Lord appeared unto Abram, and said, Unto thy seed will I give this land: and there builded he an altar unto the Lord, who appeared unto him.

The use of "Lord" in this context definitely makes sense, Lord being a word that means baal, and therefore "owner." So the giving of lands as property as fitting.

What's more interesting to me about this verse, however, as I think it is the first mentioning of the building of an altar. Modern day black magicians are very familiar with altars, as they construct them when evoking spirits or demons. Should the lord's presence be conjured in the same way as demons or spirits? Does this means the Lord is but a demon or a spirit? I don't know. I do not even know for sure what a demon is, but I know the word comes from the latin "daemon" meaning "guiding spirits" or "lesser gods" depending on who you ask. And I also know that deamons are used in computing. They run in the background executing background tasks, which I find interesting as it seems like this is what our understanding of demons and spirits do.

8 And he removed from thence unto a mountain on the east of Bethel, and pitched his tent, having Bethel on the west, and Hai on the east: and there he builded an altar unto the Lord, and called upon the name of the Lord.

Again this sounds to be exactly the way a black magician would summon a demon or an angel.

9 And Abram journeyed, going on still toward the south.

10 And there was a famine in the land: and Abram went down into Egypt to sojourn there; for the famine was grievous in the land.

11 And it came to pass, when he was come near to enter into Egypt, that he said unto Sarai his wife, Behold now, I know that thou art a fair woman to look upon:

12 Therefore it shall come to pass, when the Egyptians shall see thee, that they shall say, This is his wife: and they will kill me, but they will save thee alive.

13 Say, I pray thee, thou art my sister: that it may be well with me for thy sake; and my soul shall live because of thee.

I am not entirely sure I understand why her being his sister would prevent them from killing him and taking her. It seems to suggest that for some reason, they would disapprove of Abram being married to her, but not with them being siblings. If anyone reading this in the future has any insight, then please do share.

14 And it came to pass, that, when Abram was come into Egypt, the Egyptians beheld the woman that she was very fair.

15 The princes also of Pharaoh saw her, and commended her before Pharaoh: and the woman was taken into Pharaoh's house.

16 And he entreated Abram well for her sake: and he had sheep, and oxen, and he asses, and menservants, and maidservants, and she asses, and camels.

17 And the Lord plagued Pharaoh and his house with great plagues because of Sarai Abram's wife.

Did Abram pimp out his wife??

18 And Pharaoh called Abram and said, What is this that thou hast done unto me? why didst thou not tell me that she was thy wife?

Remembering the story of Joseph, it doesn't seem coincidental to me that pharaoh sounds like "fare owe." Though you could also say it sounds like "fair owe." I will touch on this again later after confirming my suspicions.

19 Why saidst thou, She is my sister? so I might have taken her to me to wife: now therefore behold thy wife, take her, and go thy way.

20 And Pharaoh commanded his men concerning him: and they sent him away, and his wife, and all that he had.



Thanks for reading!


It would be far more fruitful for me to spend my time seeking than surviving, so if you would like to help with a donation so that I can have more time to be reading, researching, deliberating and sharing my findings, then I thank you for any contributions to my BTC address. 15ys7RiuzXRhEcsPn8cb37W1RPqnph2BX9


All opinions on this blog are subject to change upon new information and fresher understandings

All images on this blog are free to use or created by me personally

Follow @the.seeker for more

Sort:  

Congratulations @the.seeker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56