Self-Conquest - November 16

in #religion7 years ago

Self-Conquest

The conquest of self is the grandest triumph that man can achieve.

Once a day, at least, recall very earnestly that
“You are the temple of God, and that the Spirit of God dwelleth in you.”
I Cor. iii. 15


Ꚛ Sixteenth Day of November

Thoughts of the Curé D'Ars (St. John Vianney)

One ought to pray earnestly, especially at the Ember Seasons, that God will give us good priests. If they are saints, what good they are able to do! But, whatever they are, never speak against them.

St. Ignatius, lying wounded in a hospital, began to read the lives of the saints. On learning what conflicts they had been through and with what courage they had fought for the good God, he said to himself: “Now not the same God Who will help me to fight, the same heaven to hope for, and the same hell to fear?”, why can’t I do what these saints have done? Have I not the same God Who will help me to fight, the same heaven to hope for, and the same hell to fear?”

I have often thought that the life of a poor servant maid who has no will but that of her mistress, if she knows how to turn this renunciation to account, may be as pleasing to God as that of a Religious who punctually observes her rules.

We are each of us like a small mirror in which God searches for His reflection.

Do not try to please everybody. Try to please God, the angels, and the saints —they are your public.

The saints did not become saints without many a sacrifice and many a struggle.

Was Jesus Christ afraid of being laughed at?

Nothing is harder to bear than those things which wound our self-love; but if we thought of the humiliations suffered by Jesus Christ at Bethlehem, should we ever dare to complain?




Ask yourself: how does this matter affect me personally, what lesson does it convey to me, what suggestion for a better life, how can I improve my conduct; resolve to become a saint at any cost; think upon the eternal years; pray to the Holy Ghost that He may lead you in the way of perfection; finally recite attentively and devotedly the following Act of Consecration to the Holy Spirit:

Oh Holy Spirit, divine Spirit of light and love, I consecrate to Thee my understanding, heart, and will, my whole being for time and for eternity. May my understanding be always submissive to Thy heavenly inspirations, and to the teaching of the Church, of which Thou art the infallible guide; may my heart be ever inflamed with love of God and of my neighbor; may my will be ever conformed to the divine will, and may my whole life be a faithful imitation of the life and virtue of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, to Whom with the Father and Thee be honor and glory forever. Amen.
Self-Conquest. Rev. F. X. Lasance. 1936. @selfconquest
Sort:  

This post has received a 2.61 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @selfconquest.

This post is upvoted by Polsza for 53 %.
If you want help us growing upvote this comment.
Thanks !

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.16$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63483.25
ETH 2601.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81