You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why, in my opinion, you need religion.

in #religion7 years ago

I get the argument, but you assume that there is a thing called a soul, or that a God actually does exist, or that our consciousness will live on forever. Most people who are atheists or agnostic don't believe due to sole fact that they think they don't need religion, they don't believe it because they think it isn't true. I just think that arguments like this don't result in any change because they are always faith based. I consider myself agnostic, but can see both sides of the coin.

I don't think people need religion to be happy or to feel fulfilled. But, by all means, if it helps people than I am 100 percent in favor of them using it to better themselves.

cheers

Sort:  

I agree with you and don't buy the arguments asserted in this piece. However, I do believe that anything resembling a civilization cannot exist without religion. What are your thoughts on this? In the whole of human history, has there been a functioning civilization that shunned religion entirely?

Thats a great point, up until now no civilization has ever thrived without religion playing some part in their development. However, what if that is the next step in our evolution? A civilization that gradually does away with religion being a centerpiece in their culture and ideology? I don't know, and if that does happen I doubt I would be around to see it. Interesting stuff though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45