You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Get To Stepping

in #religion5 years ago

I love this. The hardest type of letting go i think is that of family members. Being an empath in a family of narcissists was extremely difficult, i desperately tried to help and fix everyone, and could easily forgive no matter how many times they hurt me because i could see they were acting from their own pain which i desperately wanted to fix. Ultimately though this led to me being suicidal by the age of 18. Somewhere deep inside i knew that unless they were willing to heal them selves i would not be able to help them. Unless they were willing to face their dark side that i could be the punch bag for that dark side which was quickly dimming out my light. I walked away from my family, and really started to find my self. Took a while before i made it permanent, but the less time i spent around them the more positive i began to feel and more sure of my self, i finally accepted that i needed to move on, and although at times my heart feels empty, such as on mothers day etc, what i've accomplished over the years i know would not have been possible unless i had the courage to do that. We are conditioned to believe that 'blood' ties us and we must always forgive and stand by our family, i don't believe that. I have let go of the anger and hatred i once felt, as those experiences taught me valuable lessons and shaped who i am today, we are ultimately here to learn lessons and if other people don't learn them that should not hold you back. Extend your hand to help them yes, but don't keep extending it if they keep burning it!

Sort:  

My mother once lamented that although she loved her siblings, she wishes she had moved on sooner. It was a painful lesson for her. I am praying that for you there might be a reconciliation for you and yours. I am glad that this post blessed you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85