Do YOU believe in God?

in #religion8 years ago

I was a young boy when I was first introduced to religion. My parents weren’t very religious but to get me into a good educational system they had to send me to the local religious school. Most of the other schools in and around our area weren’t rated very highly, and that was where the not very good kids went to.

I remember my dad telling me that him and mum had spoken at length with the principal about the requirements for my religious involvement. She had told them that if I wasn’t religious then there would be no push for me to partake in any activity. They had told me this when I had left school through a discussion with my friend’s parents and mine.

That was a lie. I remember the first day I was there I refused to clasp my hands in prayer because I didn’t believe in God, or I wasn’t introduced to him. But, as it happens it wasn’t long before I was praying 3 times a day at school and attending mass with my class on Monday. Safe to say I had been slowly indoctrinated and by the time I had left I was a believer, and abider.

It wasn’t until I left school that I began to question the things they had told me, and the apparent absence of the almighty being forced upon me daily. But I’m all for reasoning, I’d love to have a sensible discussion on the existence of such entities.

If we look at it critically then we’ll know that nearly all miracles disappeared and stopped happening after major advancements in medicine and technology, namely the video camera. I’ve never talked with god in my life, and he’s strangely silent on a good few Political wrongdoings in the global scene right now.

You could say that he gave us free will to create a world as we see fit, and that he is being a gentle overseer, but then that would be the opposite of what happened in Genesis. There are many, many, many questions that I would like to ask.

Why does God write that homosexuality is an abomination, yet in the same breath it’s fine to work on a Sunday even although Leviticus strictly forbids it? And, if you were to strictly adhere to the bible there would be no Football. Definitely something in Leviticus about no pig skins.

Why should I feel shame for being born? I haven’t sinned yet, but I am guilty for a millennia of people before me and their mistakes? Doesn’t sound fair!

If God writes the bible then who maintains it? I always thought English was a fairly new language that came after Hebrew. And why are we allowed to pick and choose what quotes we like from the bible and leave those that we dont? Does that mean God chose the bible as a guideline more than a set of rules? And if it’s rules why are you using it as a guideline?

So many holes in this reality that I was fed into. But as a child I didn’t have the ability to think for myself, but now I do.

I’m of the mindset that I’ll just observe what happens. When I die, then I’ll either be eaten by worms or judged at the pearly gates. Who knows. I tend to think I’ll be eaten by worms though.

What’s your opinion?

Sort:  
Loading...

This was just too funny, I had to take a screen shot!

You mean the $6.66 ? ;-)

Even the Catholics don't hold that original sin is, in fact, sin in the literal sense that you and I, along with everyone else, is guilty of an actual sin. Rather, we carry the burden of the punishment that God placed on mankind; that is, we live in a world where we have to toil for the fruits of our labor, and we aren't immune from suffering.

As for Leviticus and the commandments in the Bible prior to the New Testament, that has to do with the covenant that God had with Moses, which was fulfilled by Christ's sacrifice on the cross. He made a new covenant with us through his Son's sacrifice, leaving our salvation in our own hands and binding us not to the enumerated laws of the halakhah, but to the Noachide laws (essentially, the first ten Commandments that were renewed in the covenant he made with Moses on Mt. Sinai).

As for why people pick and choose which passages they choose to follow? That's up to the individual. There are a myriad of reasons for the cognitive dissonance that plagues some Christians as to saying they follow the Lord and not following the Lord in their deeds. I'm guilty of not living up to the covenant that Jesus made with mankind, but I at least admit to it and strive to be better. In the end, we're all imperfect beings.

That's just my take on it and my attempt to answer your questions. I welcome your reply.

I do believe there is a creative force of some sort, but I don't believe in any religion or any religious books.
Of course everyone is entitled to his opinion as this is a subject which can't really be answered as you can't prove that God doesn't exist and to prove that he does in fact exist all he has to do is show himself. (note: I am using he as I don't really know what god is or even if he exists but I have to explain what I am talking about somehow).
I do believe I am open minded enough to change my mindset if somehow things happen that allow for that change.

The created world is too sophisticated and complex to have evolved by itself. There is always an intelligent mind behind all intelligent design.

Congratulations @gangsta! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @gangsta! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @gangsta! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43