Claiming to know the one thing we can't know!

in #religion7 years ago (edited)

What happens when we die? This to me is the core of religiosity and religion. It's curious that of the millions and millions of things any individual human can't and doesn't know; the same human being will state definitively that they know what happens to someone when they die! This to me is the prime fundamental flaw in religion and with religiosity. cranium-2028555__340.png
Let's look at a few examples! I only know the English language. If someone writes in French I will be hard pressed to understand what the context of the text is. But, at the same time--if I'm religious I state definitively that I know what happens when I die!
Let's say my Tesla car-1209912__340.jpg breaks down while I'm driving through the desert; can I fix it myself? Hell no! I don't know how to fix it! But I sure as hell know for a fact what happens when I die!
I've long found it bizarre that the one thing humans are in complete darkness about is the one thing they claim to know the most about! Why can't we admit that we don't have a God damn clue as to what happens when we die other than to say someone is dead and not alive anymore! There's a certain truthful humility to conceding that compared to the hubris and arrogance​​ of religiosity.
Now, I'm not saying there is no life​ after death; maybe there is, but wouldn't it be better to phrase the issue in conjecture rather than dogmatism?
Anyway, Steemers, that's my little RANT for today! For those of you who want a good read on what happens when one dies, ​I'd suggest, The Tibetan Book of The Dead! Very detailed......But, COMPLETE CONJECTURE!
buddhist-737274__340.jpg

All photos from Pixabay.com

Sort:  

What happens when we die? This to me is the core of religiosity and religion.

Let's assume "religiosity" and religion can be painted with such a broad brush. How is this question the core of it?

To get more context, how would you define "religiosity" and religion?

Hi Hartnell, thanks for dropping by:) Of course, in this rant, I'm being a tad provocative.
Here is an article which concerns itself with such matters:
https://newrepublic.com/article/120542/pope-francis-dog-heaven-all-gods-creatures-ascend-afterlife
Wow! Just wow! Or is that bow-wow!
To me, the essence of religion is a concern for the afterlife. Is this really disputable? My point again is that's the one thing humanity cannot know, so in my opinion, it makes religion kind of useless!
If science worked like religion there would be complete chaos as anyone could claim anything and there would be no way to verify or falsify any claim! It would be an unacceptable situation, but one which is tolerated with every manner of fervor​​ within religion.
Please note, that in my post I didn't deny the possibility of an afterlife, I simply condemned dogmatism on this particular issue.....

To me, the essence of religion is a concern for the afterlife. Is this really disputable?

Easily, but the subject here is what you think and believe about religion, not religion itself. In other words, I'm trying to clarify your opinion in an attempt to understand it.

My point again is that's the one thing humanity cannot know...

You'd have to define death. Care to take a shot?

More to the point, how can we not know it?

You seem to have missed my previous question:

how would you define "religiosity" and religion?

Thanks for telling me what my post is about Hartnell, I'm sure I'm just too God damned dumb​ to offer up an easily clear and concise premise!
The context of this post is unprovable religious claims about metaphysics offered up by most religionists as if the claims were​ just a matter of fact.....
Is there something difficult about understanding that? By all means, ​if you want to talk about other aspects of religion go right ahead, but I'd prefer​ to stay on topic on this particular thread...

I enjoyed your rant very much. The Catholic pope certainly has a lot to do with religion but not too much to do with God or heaven, according to the bible. Jesus was anti-religiosity Himself which is clear if you read what He said.

I'm guessing your personal conviction is in Science-ism, a faith in the belief that all came from nothing for no purpose. I used to believe that myself, a depression inducing stance. What interests me is that it is on your mind the question of the destination of your spirit when you shuffle off this mortal coil. A very important thing to meditate upon. You are spot on it is the key thing to get right in this life, heaven or hell. Not the kind of thing you'd like to get wrong.

Thanks for dropping in ardent. No, that is not correct. I place a very high value on science and empiricism but there are definitive limits to that kind of knowledge.........That isn't a justification for religious assertions about what happens to someone when they die. I stand by facts on that one: they are dead! That is all we know for sure....
Any other claim is sheer speculation and beyond the scope of human knowledge. Any human making a definitive claim on the issue is completely mistaken.
BTW: I have no problem with anyone believing anything they like about the afterlife, just have some epistemological humility and frame the assertion as speculative and​ not definitive....

Maybe an example would help: say I'm a scientist that discovered tachyons, and then declared to everyone that tachyons spoke to me telepathically; in science, ​the claim wouldn't be enough, the claim would have to be verified and repeatable​ by a large number of peers. Religion offers no such shared repeatable​ evidence, until such time as it does we should all take a long deep step back from our religious assertions about invisible things......

why do people talk about religion? i think it's inappropriate and is frowned upon in social media.

Do you have a fave subject fiftyshades? I'll do a blog post on it just for you:)

art work would be nice

I hope wherever I go after I die there is no religion, no war, no politics and no need for money. I just want to laugh listen to good music and imagine.

I could groove to a Marley/Lennon heaven:D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64269.87
ETH 3393.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48