The worst best friend in the history of ever

in #relationships8 years ago (edited)

Ever have a friend that slides into your life off a rainbow? Ever feel immensely grateful to that person for showing up when they did only to later discover they spent your friendship manipulating you to make themselves look better?

I am talking about my over and done ex-friend here. They exhausted me. Fully depleted me. Today I feel angry at the incredible lengths they went to in cultivating a one-sided relationship with me in order to sap me dry. I overcommitted. It is a weakness of mine. I love incredibly hard. I am an open heart. This person came in and took it all.

This happened every year when I was a child. I grew up resolute to set clear and firm boundaries to protect myself from emotional vampires. It has been years since I have succumbed to one's hypnotism. All the signs were there. My life ground to a halt and began to revolve around theirs. I was going to be the best best friend in the history of ever. Maybe I was.

For sure, they were the worst best friend in the history of ever.


How I am feeling.

I am angry at this person for hurting me and choosing to view their continued transgressions (yes, they are still contacting and attempting to manipulate me daily) as acts of a "concerned friend." They see themself as having done nothing wrong. They see me as overreacting. I am not overreacting. I am angry at myself for ignoring my screaming intuition to protect myself even as I have worked to protect others from being harmed by this person.

What I am trying to do is stay positive. Today, however, I am going to give myself a break and stay with this fury. It is important to recognize all aspects of this process. This anger will fuel my personal evolution.

If you are out and about and you see a girl with fire for a face, please do not douse me. I need to burn for awhile before I can get back to my regularly scheduled positivity. If you have some suggestions for surviving the flames, please let me know.

Sort:  

Why not just limit any contacts?

Good question! I have done so as much as I am able. We have several years history and overlap in friendships which makes boundaries harder to enforce. If I have to change my phone number, I will. I have blocked them from all other areas of my life as much as possible.

could you be a little more specific in what happened ?

I talked about it in a previous post. Essentially, the individual tried to bankrupt me out of jealousy due to my perceived success. They recanted, but not until after I saw their true face.

music and nature is my suggestion

Ahh love these. :)

Beach or lake grab a foldable chair put some head phones on and just enjoy the weather let your mind and body just relax to simmer down the flame...

This sounds divine!

Walking around carrying a flame like they will trigger other emotions and if you are walking around with, any one in your path will face the kickback of your words, even for just asking how are doing.

True. I tend to isolate myself when I need to feel my anger. I don't want anyone else feeling my anger.

Hi there :) I've been through the same emotional roller coaster a couple of times, courtesy of "friends". So, I won't give you suggestions on how to survive the flames - let them burn! You are much, much stronger than that.
I only wanted to say - since you're already familiar with the behavior pattern of such people, treat them right from the start; don't let them draw you into their net, then you'll have to spend extra energy getting out. Keep cool and make them feel uncomfortable around you - they'll leave. :D

I like this plan!

Sometimes you need to just let it all out and start over again;

:) Indeed.

With friends like that who needs enemies?
Well, at least you recognized it in time to save yourself. You have my permission to burn. I like crispy things... Oh, and I'll bring the marshmallows. ;)

Sounds like a match made in heaven! Thank you for permission. I feel release with that.

Thanks for sharing this material, I like what you posted. Thank you so much

Thank you for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65