An eye for an eye? I’d say - think at least twice.

in #relationships5 years ago (edited)

It usually happens when we are angry. It often happens when we feel betrayed. It takes place when we think we’ve been driven to the edge of barely bearable experiences - and there’s someone specific, someone loved and trusted (?) to blame.

“You aren’t open with me, so I am going to hide from you, too!”
“You’ve done x, y, z, so I’m going to do double of all that!”
“You think you can behave so and so? Well, let me show you what I can do in return.”

And it can go on, and on, and on until things escalate to heights of no return. Sometimes so much that people barely stop one step away from completely destroying each other’s and their own minds, souls, and even physical bodies.

Should it then be an eye for an eye? Honestly, after being through lots of great experiences AND through some truly hellish crap, I can say - no.

It should never be an eye for an eye with the purpose to get revenge, and it is so simply because people are ALREADY being punished for their mistakes and weaknesses, even if they don’t realize it yet.

It doesn’t mean you have to turn your other cheek or to just accept being abused and mistreated either. It’s not about playing a victim or being an all-forgiving saint. It’s just that if a person does something crappy, they are already hurt. They are already in pain, they are already unwell - otherwise why would they do all the “bad” things they do?

Happy people don’t do crappy things. Satisfied people don’t go around hurting others. Healthy, psychologically stable people don’t have the need to challenge, or trick, or distrust. If someone does all that, taking revenge on them is like beating an already hurt person with a stick.

Now the question is - do you love that “sick” person enough to stay with them and help them heal? Or maybe it’s safer and healthier for both to walk away? Maybe there are ways to figure it all out, to connect, to find another path? I don’t know. Every case and every person is too special to generalize.

And if it’s not them, if it’s us? If we are able to notice that it’s us who are being cursed and blamed for something horrid we have done... It’s also a good time to ask yourself:

Am I happy? Am I in trouble? What makes me angry, sad, dissatisfied and distrustful, and how did it start? Why am I perceived as a monster by others? Have I done monstrous things, or is it them who are mistaken in their subjective judgements?

And every question will lead to more and more questions, and supposedly, if one thinks hard enough... well, anyway. No eyes taken out, folks. Unless we are at war or in blood feuds. And even then )) There were cases when enemies shared a peace cup of wine. There were cases when long-term warriors of opposite sides became brothers.

Always give them another chance. Always give another chance to yourself. So many things die every day - I mean literally as well as metaphorically, if you like. Those things and moments are precious, and they are fleeting.

People themselves are fragile, both physically and mentally. I have learned that some things we do to each other are unfixable; they leave never healing wounds and ugly scars. And the ridiculous thing is that usually they are made for nothing.

Sort:  

Ahh so much energy wasted on the negatives in life; it's unfortunate that so many seem wired for it. Thank you for the thoughtful post @araksa-dragonkey!

Thanks to @mimismartypants for featuring your post in our @pifc contest entry😊

Thanks for supporting Lynn!

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree on the whole no vengeance part but just walking away and saying nothing also has consequences. I personally tend to write people off in my head and just distance myself from them. I see them socially in groups but no interaction is initiated from my side in terms of making the effort to connect with them especially. If help is asked for I will not say no, but then I notice these people always give you the short end of the stick. So I Suppose it's hard to find that balance of not hurting them, trying to make them aware of their behavior without driving them over the edge. But i do feel they need to be made aware of their behavior if it is very harmful or hurtful to others!

I think to retaliate in the moment is for sure our lizard brain taking over, our legacy survival instinct kicks in as our mind simulates the feelings of being in harms way as for long term vengeance that's an ego thing. If someone harms you and doesn't want to reconcile consider it time to move on and quit trying to get even

Happy people don’t do crappy things.

Unless they've managed to project the illusion of happiness, or they're a complete sociopath.

It isn't even meant to be an eye for an eye. Those scenarios come about from the breakdown of negotiation, of not looking at mediation as a mutually beneficial exercise. Instead it is a win/loss equation - with the perspective of the majority of social constructs being that someone will win, and someone will lose from the negotiation.

Then, it's only a fine line to dance toward conflict and away from mediation.

Is altruism the exact opposite of an eye for eye?

I'm not versed on anthropology or politics, or economics, but the capitalist eggshell and governmental veils of "rule" leave a very under nourishing environment in the petri dish of freedom.

I'm not versed on anthropology or politics, or economics, but the capitalist eggshell and governmental veils of "rule" leave a very under nourishing environment in the petri dish of freedom.

I could not say it better.
I am pretty uncertain about both, altruism, and whether mother Teresa could be a role model for this concept.
The problem with altruism is that part of this theory is the idea of a bigger reward. Which I don't like that much. It's the promise that if you act altruistic, you will receive a bigger reward in the end. Not the initial theory but what other philosophers like Humberto Maturana made out of it.
And mother Teresa … she worked for Satan himself: the Vatican and embezzled a lot of money for them. In the world we're living today it's not that easy to acknowledge "real good". Wolves in sheep clothes … Often the worst enemies of humanity cover themselves in the most friendly costumes. NGOs to cover your true colors, charities and whatnot. Never to help the case, always to help themselves …

I am so glad there are such fierce, independent, and intelligent people like you and @araksa-dragonkey on Steem.

It reminds me of the discussions I had on the lawns with my peers at university. Discussing the underlying root cause of things, and using critical thinking to examine the whole lot.

NGOs can only "thrive" because of the environments that necessitate their existence.

Yes, it’s true. And I am not a very big fan of Catholicism or religions in general myself. As for Teresa, I don’t know much about her person - the name came more as a symbol. Now that I’m thinking about it, I think - was she truly altruistic but used by the organization as a tool, or was she conscious about being a worker for something sinister? Only an assumption, but I think it could be that she didn’t give a damn about Vatican or religious institutions in general; she would still be doing her thing with or without them.

Hmm... let’s see another well-known example then. Or an example where a person does something that truly takes away from them and makes them suffer (but they do not believe in afterlife rewards and they are not in any way masochistic)... If I find such an example, I’ll come back to this curious topic.

If you ask me, there are millions of examples and their altruistic nature doesn't allow them to brag about it. ;) So, a famous person might not be it …

Yes, true again :D

Yes... then they are perfect liars and manipulators with very special and interesting minds) And I know many people (especially women) who say they’d love to date a psychopath... and I am laughing quietly in my head :) You girls don’t know what you are in for and how it can all end. Too many thriller films and charismatic “bad” characters on TV.

However, I have come across something that put this whole psychopathy “illness” in question. If one can control his emotions, feelings, and reactions, and produce them by will despite presence or absence of any necessary irritants or stimuli - does he then enter that mind state of a psychopath?..

I don’t know much about altruism and what is “true” altruism. I think it goes hand in hand with unconditional love toward people, maybe not even close people, but people in general. To me true altruism would be something like mother Teresa... that level of doing everything for others and living a very simple life.

Important lesson to be learned. Learning to be better is an important part of our journey.

I found you thanks to @mimismartypants featuring you in the curation contest - keep up the great work!

Thanks for supporting!

"An eye for an eye until the whole world is blind." I appreciate this sentiment. We all need to learn to immediately – IMMEDIATELY – turn inward when something "from the outside" hurts us, instead of reacting to it. We are all vulnerable human beings. <3


giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 58. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55528.94
ETH 2373.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36