Sort:  

No but I am somebody who is put off by the worlds mass sexual objectification of women in general. The fact that steemit has a #steemgirls tag but has no market for a steemguys one tells us this is the world we live in! If I object to it, I am not saying nobody should look at me that way or blaming a woman who wants to be seen that way, I'm saying there is something wrong with a world that promotes women in this way while promoting men as more heroic or independent etc etc.

When I read a post like this, I'm sorry but all I see is another feminist like myself getting defensive about what they like to objectify. In other words, you're making it about you when it's more about the society that reinforces it.

I don't think the world promotes it, I think it's a completely natural thing. I believe that in trying to supress this aspect of women in society as a whole, it is just trying to take away their natural power. That is why women were oppressed. That is why women are put in burkas. Now that women can actually harness their sexuality and use it for themselve, at their own volition, and that the value of it is recognized in our culture, people are trying to take it away.

We can't get to know everyone personally. Who says that valuing someone for intelligence or any other trait isnt just as objectifying? People are exploited for those skills too.

Don't get me wrong, as you already have with feminism, I am not against the female form, or women who want to express themselves sexually or even men who express their desires for such women. That is not the issue. The issue is that you (according to this post at least) are looking at women like we are some other breed or species to men.

  • If it's completely natural then why aren't there billboards with men licking spoons or eating burgers half naked?! Do you think the entire economy is attracted to women and not men?
  • If sex sold we would see a hellofa lot more dick and only half the 'sex' as you call it would be tits and ass! Sex is not what sells. Objectification and dehumanization is!
  • Tell me, if a man twice your size walked up beside you while you were alone and on your way home from work and said to you "man, you look good, I wanna do things to you!", would you feel complimented?! And please don't tell me it's different because you are a man and a women "should feel complimented" it is no different because we feel just as intimidated as any man our size would! It is an uninvited advance which makes it harrassment! We don't like it just as much as you wouldn't!
  • You say it is in "feminine" nature to enjoy being adored. It is in fact in HUMAN nature to enjoy being adored. The question is, what are we culturally expected to be adored for? As a man, you are more likely to be adored for your wisdom and success. As a woman... sex. Can you not see how belittling that is?

I agree that there are people who believe being feminist means being allowed to tell women to "stop objectifying themselves". These are small minded fools that think it is something that can be solved if we all just "behave ourselves". Culture isn't something any of us can just change by telling others what to do. It is just something to talk about to make people aware of themselves and what potential they could have if they considered what another world could be like. Recognising that the way we are is cultural and not natural allows people to step out of the stereotypical box our prescribed gender puts us in. That's all. We are not supposed to be telling anybody to put their clothes back on or to be ashamed of their sexual desires. We are supposed to be allowing everybody to be themselves by opening eachothers eyes with feminist theory. That's all.

I went on a bit of a rant there...

To make sure my point get through I leave you with a music video parody. Now tell me: if sex sells why do we never see music videos like this but often see ones like blurred lines?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47