You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New discussion post - Steem Fork - Stay, swap or both?

in #reggaesteem4 years ago (edited)

I personally would have loved to see the cross chain atomic swap solution but that is obviously not going to happen. I am for the fork/new chian but at the same time I would think it is a good idea to have a foot in another chain as that is the future of blockchain and what we were hoping for with tron. EOS may be ideal at this point. But that also comes with complications, tech and business wise regarding ReggaeSteem.

The thing about a fork or new chain is you and I can wait for liquidity while we HODL and build but many steemians depend on steem to survive, some don't have to, they just do but there are some who have nothing else to keep them a float, but yup I agree, steem is now a sinking ship, I do not see any way to plug the holes. A new ship may be the only solution at this point.


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Sort:  

Hi, I agree it is a sinking ship, but still, I think it is repairable. I see it as a relationship. Yes there are some trust issues and yes people forgot how to communicate (I am guilty of this too I know). But with respect and dialogue, things can be fixed. We find it easier to end relationships than to buidl them. Block people for their opinions, instead of finding common grounds. In business you need to find the best possible outcome for ALL parties involved. And that's so easy in this case.
We want decentralized governance: Fixable
Justin wants something to say as the largest stakeholder: Fixable
We want more diversity in the witnesses so nobody (read community)is left behind: Fixable


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Yup, 100 % agree that different users have different levels of dependance on STEEM - I know a number of our Venezuelan community who rely on STEEM as their food on the table. I desperately hope they don't get swept aside in all these power plays.

The cross-chain swaps may still happen, who knows. Once those that oppose Justin have completely gone from STEEM, onto the new chain, he may feel more at ease and willing to build rather than dump - who knows.

A foot in another chain sounds nice, but I don't understand the technical side of that. What chains use JSON? It is my understanding that alot of the tribe activity relies on Json transactions - is it feasible to brodcast a JSON on two different chains to have say an EOS JAHM token and a STEEM one, with the data readible on both?

Like I said - no idea about the tech side of things. I guess Reggeasteem at the end of the day is dependant on STEEM Engine, and how they handle this fork will be the primary consideration for the tribe. Some sort of cross-chain capability could be an interesting way to keep a foot in both STEEM and HIVE and be open to the upside of either chain.

Whether STEEM is sinking now depends on Justin really. He has the resources to re-build it as he wishes once the fork happens and his oponents are busy with a new chain, it just depends on if he actually wants to build it, or just dump out and move on.

Thanks for your thoughts,

JK.


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87