Music as Therapy for Refugees

in #refugees6 years ago (edited)

MusicTherapyImage.jpg

I seek to use music and art and performance and writing as a tool for social change; for releasing repression amongst the oppressed - because of my own experience of its use as a form of dealing with internal anger in order to be more effective in greater social/political aims. The trauma I have experienced in my life is a drop in the ocean in comparison to trauma experienced by refugees and asylum seekers. It is important to find authentic expression in these non-abusive emotional outlets in order to achieve mental clarity. Because of my experience, I now see a direct link from releasing emotional trauma in music and art with reducing the repeat of this trauma in society and therefore see its value as a tool to move towards a greater level of happiness collectively as a single, entire and whole people under the banner of humanity.

I see value to apply these techniques in first world countries with family and relationship trauma but I now understand how all humans are connected emotionally to one another and the greatest discrepancy should be corrected first. I also see that first worlders with good intentions need a shakeup out of their comfort zone to get them standing and active. I choose not to spend my time on this portion of humanity, when I see such great need elsewhere and greater drive, passion, potential and ambition from less economically endowed peoples and countries. Humans commonly get comfortable, deal with themselves then forget about others or where they came from. Traveling as I have has given me perspective.

I endeavor to involve myself in an organisation or establish one myself to use music/art/performance as therapy in refugee camps or other tense environments with high levels of trauma experienced in individuals in order to assist in helping people find emotional balance. I see this clearly as a path I must take and I am willing to take suggestions or advice from those in the field for following this path. Thank you! x

Sort:  

Congratulations @montycashmusic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58711.36
ETH 2729.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28