Upcycling my election flags

in #recycling6 years ago (edited)

In the recent 14th Malaysian General Election, I was actively involved in helping out the party candidate I'm supporting. I haven't truly recovered from the mental and physical strain of campaigning, which is partly the reason for me missing so many blogging days.
20180504_212646.jpg
Nevertheless, it feels good to use those energy to help the community and get them to at least vote at the correct location, or connecting with them in the very least so that I'll know what kind of community outreach I can do for them in the near future.

download.jpg
(img src)
So anyways, our home is located at one of kampungs with the old main roads connecting Kota Kinabalu and Kota Belud. As soon as the 10th of May rolled in, we took off most of those flags and boards along the road as much as we could handle. We ended up with a lot of spare wood boards, which our neighbours use to build a makeshift barrier of their chicken coop and other useful things.

The flags are of rayon and quite good quality. I didn't know what to do with them initially. So a couple of days ago, to let off steam, and incidentally my kids were playing with a few pillows which were not in good condition. I tried to look for some spare pillow cases, but was baffled at how many of those covers were missing.

So of course, being fond of hands-on fixing stuff, I thought of the next best thing to do. Sew myself some pillow cases.
photo6086741065806751762.jpg

And when I say I sew, I don't mean machine-sew it.
Yes, my friend. I hand sewn them. Just look at those neatly sewn cases. I'm so proud of my handiwork.
photo6086741065806751761.jpg

My kids loved them, because the material is light-weight, soft and silky, as flags are suppose to be so that they wave easily in the breeze.
photo6086741065806751763.jpg

I've been slowly and surely transitioning to being a little more eco-friendly, by turning waste food into fertilizers for our banana trees, and storing bottles for sale. It's a blessing in disguise not to have a municipal council that provide trash removal service in my area, because it forces me to be mindful of all the waste I accumulate and have to dispose of myself. Less waste means less rodents, less wastage and less foul smell from food.

It feels good to do some manual labour from time to time :-)

LIKE WHAT YOU READ? Then check out my previous post: https://steemit.com/web/@webgrrrl/setting-up-secured-sites-for-better-ranking

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Typical pillow cover. Nice one lorna

Thanks, I'm proud of myself hahah

Yes, you are

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54179.48
ETH 2261.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31