Setting up secured sites for better ranking

in #web6 years ago (edited)

I've wanted to set up HTTPS on WebGrrrl.net for a while now. However, setting up HTTPS not only used to be expensive for a bootstrapper such as myself, but it also presents difficulty because the forwarding HTTP and HTTPS protocols technically doesn't always transition smoothly, and you'll end up with a lot of 404 (page not found) errors.

I finally made the leap recently on WebGrrrl.net.
Untitled.png

Frankly, I'm happily surprised by how smooth the transition was. Existing WordPress-powered websites specifically can be very fickle in handling the non-secured redirects, causing the site to break (mixed content is the least of your worries, believe me). That's why it's important to read the latest coding style guides from time to time, and work with your core frameworks as much as possible instead of relying on third party plugins. My style guide reference has always been those made by Google, and at least on WordPress front-end development I always take advantage of script and style enqueues to remove redundant stylesheet and JavaScript calls that can slow down my sites.
Untitled.png

A number of factors contributed to my decision. In a nutshell, the latest HTTPS protocol provides faster response times compared to its predecessor, and now that I'm on a VPS (virtual private server) and free certificates like Let's Encrypt and Simple SSL are now available, the barrier of entry in terms of cost and effort is now lower. Oh yeah, Google also ranks HTTPS higher than non-secured sites. You know that panicked feeling you get when stumbled onto a site and see that red alert that warns you that the website you're visiting is not safe?
httpsaskleo.png
(img src)
That's not going to happen on mine. That's the kind of assurance you want when using the Web.

By the way, if you need help with your WordPress sites, let me know by using my contact form or drop me a comment in any of my post. I accept the usual PayPal and Payoneer payments, as well as Steem and SBD. I don't play with other coins, sorry.

LIKE WHAT YOU READ? Then check out my previous post: https://steemit.com/web/@webgrrrl/gdpr-is-making-the-internet-insane

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by WebGrrrl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54260.52
ETH 2284.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30