Street Magic - How I'm Fine Tuning My Home Resale/Recycling Business To Level Up - Click For Inspiration & Ideas

in #recycling5 years ago (edited)

This June will mark FIVE years since I quit my mind-numbing corporate job to work for myself. I was making great money ignorant people would slap me for giving up, but it felt like a waste of my life and potential. Time and health are my wealth, because my soul is free. Oh, and I fully support myself with every single dollar earned by my own means. That's something I've very proud of. Not many people can or want to do that these days.

What I do really works (no YouTube commercial asking for your email address in exchange for a free e-book). I post about some of it here on Steem to try to share my experience so others can find inspiration.

While I happen to be uncannily good at thrifting, and did that like a NAVY SEAL before and after quitting, my path has evolved into recycling for profit. It's far more meaningful, impactful, rewarding, and profitable. It's also significantly easier. I literally walk around my immediate city neighborhood 3 times a week (maybe 4 days as a bonus). Each stroll takes about 1-2.5 hours depending on the conditions and if I'm making several return trips. On top of that, my eyes are always peeled to spot valuable household items left outside for disposal for whatever reason at any time. I've found some crazy stuff just sitting out in the open in the middle of nowhere at random times, and even at busy corners.

TRUTH: Recycling per above for 3-7.5 hours a week allows me to live in a super expensive city comfortably. Why others don't do this even as a hobby for extra income boggles my mind. Aside from the money, saving things from being unnecessarily wasted is a great reward in itself. Many places aren't as fruitful, but MANY are if you look consistently and carefully. You also find what you need. I find things I need constantly. It's unreal, but the Law of Attraction works. Last weekend, I found a $100 used thermal label printer filled with labels. I ordered free labels from a shipping carrier and will never have to buy paper, ink or waste time and tape painstakingly taping each printout to each package. This is very exciting to me since I'll save several hours every month.

Truth: You DON'T need to work for and be managed by someone else. This is YOUR choice.

If you're comfortable with your situation, that's wonderful. Working for yourself not for everyone, although many people seem to dream of it. Either way, are you truly happy and proud of your situation? We live once...

Sometimes you need "sacrifice what you are for what you will become." - Eric Thomas


To keep this post on track, here are some ways I've adjusted my business plan for 2020.

  • Many people have asked to film a documentary on me or that I write a book/guide. This is the year for me to prepare for that with more pics and data to tell my story. I keep very good records mainly to prove my finds and income to those who don't believe it. Some of the things I find outside for free are unbelievable, and I want to share that excitement with others, even if it means vlogging... This would be a huge step for me, but I'm starting to listen to the demand.
  • Use recycled shipping materials as much as possible, less cost benefits provided by flat rate packages.
  • Adding these fields to my extensive Excel tracker for every item ever found and sold so I can tell an awesome story along the way of how much I've saved and repurposed: "Total Shipping Weight" and "100% Recycled Packaging Y/N."
  • Keep the pedal to the metal with Facebook Marketplace & Craigslist to reduce my carbon footprint from shipping. Aggressively using these platforms has been a massive boost to my sales and cash in hand. I was stupid for ignoring Facebook Marketplace to spite the site until a few months ago.
  • Not only use my storage unit for large or bulk items, but fill it to the roof so I have more space in my apartment to make a proper photo studio area. I usually take pictures on my kitchen counter or in my hallway. Pictures sell. I need to step up my game to strengthen those first impressions and get better lighting.
  • Limit the thrifting. Really. There's honestly no need and it feels like a waste of time versus how easily I accumulate free high quality household goods from the curbs near my apartment. If I do go thrifting, make sure it's local and not a marathon day where I'm pulled away from recycling/helping the environment.
  • Maximize my flow with the improvements above and then scale up by hitting a second neighborhood each day. I usually go out late when it's dark for privacy and serenity, but if I did a route when recycling is put out in the daylight, I'd literally make so much money per hour, you'd hate me. To date, I mainly want to keep this fun and balanced where I go to the gym with energy, have a social life, pursue drumming in a band again, and 35-45 baseball games a year (and some softball). Making more room in my apartment will be vital to accommodate the increase in free inventory. At some point, I will need a proper place to work, and a proper place to just live!
  • I don't like gifts or help, but I accepted my sister's Christmas gift of a collapsible hand cart that holds up to 150 pounds. I prefer to muscle almost everything home with pure drive and determination (and for exercise to get stronger for baseball), but this might save a few short cab rides when I simply can't safely handle what I find. I don't want to break anything or get hurt.
  • Goal setting - I know the daily profit I need to make to make my annual goal. In the past, despite tracking everything to the penny, I went with the flow. Now I have a key number I need to pursue every day and something to hold myself accountable to versus random ebbs and flows.
  • Donate more to thrift stores or charities. I already do this, but I can do it more. This is best for when I'm having a slow night on the curbs, where I can at least take some stuff back solely to donate. I often try to keep my hands free to manage my phone's light and to look up things that I scout, but I'll start wearing a backpack to help with this.
  • Consider recruiting a business partner or part-time help. I always refuse to ask for help, but I think I will at least need some admin or listing support at some point solely in the spirit of allowing me to find and save more.

I think this is enough for now. What do you think? Any suggestions or ideas?

Oh yea, my post needs a picture so people click on it...

I sold this 18 pound stationary bike trainer for $100 cash today. I found it on a pile of recycling a few buildings down from mine along with a set of skis. I sold those skis for $80 cash, so $180 cash total for that score 20 seconds away from my door. Ironically, I sold the skis exactly in the same spot I found them, and this bike trainer a few seconds away as well. Pretty cool full-circle, huh?

I'll leave you with this concept... I hustle, but I've never worked for a second since June of 2015. What I do is a joy and is always effortless. Find your passion and monetize it to achieve the same... if you want it. What's holding you back??

...After already finding a some electronics on my way back from the gym tonight, it's time to post this and go out to find more!

P.S. curb recycling = clear plastic bags in piles and cardboard boxes in front of residential or businesses. Most of what I find is right on top or immediately visible. I don't dig too much unless I find a bag full of valuable household stuff, which is then like Christmas.

Thanks,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

Sounds like you have an excellent plan in place for 2020.

Looking forward to following progress - and the vlogging.

Happy New Year, @steemmatt! You may well be the only thrifter and upcycler with a written business plan! LOVE IT. The universe responds accordingly, and blesses you when you're clear, free and full of JOY.

Really appreciating the emphasis you give to freedom, health and time being your greatest wealth. And so it is!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

Thanks and same to you. I always look forward to your thoughtful replies that keep me involved here.

Very sweet of you to say... sometimes it feels like my comments disappear into some black hole in outer space LOL... it's NICE to have recognition and a little feedback. Hugs. x

One point confuses me, avoid recycled shipping materials as much as possible? lol was that a typo?

Oops. Thanks! Glad someone is reading this stuff. I just got back from round 2 outside, which was a very good run. Between both rounds, looking at a realistic $700-$750 in finds, two are very high end vintage luxury items, one being a Bang & Olufsen music player.

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!! Keep up with the dorky content for more love!!!

YES! You're back with a new recycling post! I check EVERY morning for these as I LOVE them! Keep up the good work!

Oh man, I hope I don't disappoint you more often than not!! I'm trying to get motivated to post again, but the more I seem to focus offline, the more efficient I am with my business and able to use that time for other things. I'll try. Comments like this help kick me in the ass.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68236.23
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70