Recent Valuable Street Recycling Finds... Free High-Quality Inventory To Sell For Income + Help The Environment

in #recycling5 years ago (edited)

I prove on a daily basis that one person's trash is another's treasure...

These finds below are worth about $1,875 in resale value (+/- 10%).

Recycling is important to me because I feel like I'm helping the planet, consumers worldwide, and myself at the same time.

I salvage quality items from the recycling piles on the curb in me immediate neighborhood to resell.

These items are either loose on top of piles of clear plastic bags, easily visible in the bags, or in cardboard boxes.

Most items are perfectly clean and ready to sell after a quick test. Some require a little troubleshooting or quick fix to address why they were lazily thrown out. If something can't be fixed or is too large to sell in one piece, I break it down parts (which is usually the most profitable route anyway).

I overlooked this stuff for years until I literally tripped on it. After then, I can't miss them.

You simply have to start looking around for value and you'll start seeing green.


Here are 10 examples of things I've found recently so you can see that this game is real...

1 - A 1980's Cort electric guitar that was made in Japan. I posted on this before when I first found it, but will update that I brought it to a guitar shop that opened it up/tested it to confirm it all works, and is all original. They said it must've been in a closet for a few decades because the condition was that good. It's worth about $250-$300, but I'm tempted to keep it. The store offered me cash for it on the spot, but I declined. They can tune it all up and restring it for $85, which I might do so I can have a nice toy/trophy.

Seriously, a badass electric guitar for free!

2 - The inflatable PUP board was chilling on its own in its carry bag on the curb. It originally retailed for $400-$500. It had all components, including the unused repair kit, except the air pump. I can sell it for $150-$200 cash since it's a popular trend for yoga/fitness. I thought it was an inflatable mattress until I opened it up on the curb.



3 - This digital seed grow garden originally sold for $300-$400. It all works perfectly and should sell for about $140. It was sitting loose on a pile.

4 - Near complete lock building kit originally retailed for about $800. Due to scarcity of a discontinued model, this will eventually sell for about $500, or $400 at the lowest.

5 - Post-surgery cold therapy rehab wrap sold for $83 to help someone who just had an operation.

6 - Microsoft software with serial numbers... worth $70 and $40.

7 - Perfectly working complete Nespresso coffee maker worth about $115.

8 - An antique Finnish mug from the late 1960s of a popular make (Arabia). If it didn't have a crack in it, it'd fetch about $125-$150. I'll aim to sell it for $75.

9 - I posted on this recently, but it's too cool looking not to show again for those that missed it. Due to slip cover damage, I sold this book for $125 (I'll live).

10 - The gold standard Miele vacuum find to test and disassemble for parts. Hose worth $75+, motor $60, cord winder $60, pedal control board $30. I couldn't find the power nozzle, which would've been about $75+.




RIP a Casio keyboard - my hands were too full and it was only worth about $60, so I left it behind.


I have thousands of examples, so if you happen to catch this for the first time or would like to see more, please follow and stay tuned.

I also primarily ship my sales with packaging I've recycled from the curbs. This is very rewarding. I've sold thousands and thousands of things, and only spent $1 on packaging materials outside of tape (exception: I do use free USPS flat rate packages out of necessity to get the shipping rates). Think about that...

Please let me know if you have any questions or would like some advice.

The goal here is to show people that there is often value in many things the average person doesn't realize, so they either throw money away, or create unnecessary waste.

Thank you,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 156 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I'm amazed that people are just throwing away such valuable stuff. Are you finding this in a wealthy neighborhood?

My entire city has a lot of wealth. I'd say that I'm in a normal residential/commercial part of it, but the standard of living is fairly high to play a factor in the quality of what is consumed/wasted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65