You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Selling What People Throw Out For Income - More Completely Free Items Sold For Another $609

in #recycling6 years ago (edited)

Thank you. This is just a slice. I've sold thousands of things from the curbs in this fashion and have tons I haven't sold/listed yet.

~80% of the items need either no clean up or a wipe down with rubbing alcohol at most. This is to freshen them up, remove the dust, or get rid of surface scuffs. It's amazing how 30 seconds of rubbing alcohol on the right surface can make something look brand new.

Things like vacuum cleaners/appliance parts, or things list espresso/coffee makers, do also call for rubbing alcohol to remove surface scuffs/stains, but usually a solid rinse through. It's super easy. For example, many people toss high-end vacuums because of a simple clog, so some brief troubleshooting is involved, or rinsing a hose out with water is called for. If something isn't fit for selling or can't be cleaned well, I'll salvage whatever parts I can and spruce them up. If that's the case, I usually don't take the former with me when hunting around.

If I find medical devices, which I often do, I'll sanitize them even if they don't look like they need it. Most of the stuff on the curbs has been nearly directly put out from an owners' apartment in near mint condition and put in bags in a short timeframe. The condition is usually near taking it straight from their hands, barring weather.

Sort:  

This is wild. I've gotten a lot of treasures from our local dump, since there is a swap shop where people are encouraged to leave and take what they like. But I never see treasures quite like this.

I've gotten a couple of computers which I still use every day. I've been discouraged lately, though, because the dump has gotten stricter with their "no pick" policy about electronics. It's so depressing to drive past perfectly good machines that people have left in the rain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45