Believe It Or Not - Saving TONS From Waste ALL THE DAMN TIME To Lead By Example - Recent Heavy High-Impact Finds

in #recycling5 years ago (edited)

I put a lot of muscle into recycling, literally.

I hand carry most finds in my neighborhood back to my apartment and up 4 flights of stairs. If that means that I need to carry it half a block at a time, that's what I do. If I have a lot, I carry it half a block and go back to leapfrog a half block with the next batch.

Recycling is more than putting cans and bottles in a bin... or it should be if we truly cared.

I've been doing this constantly for almost 4 years now. I traded the comforts of my very comfortable corporate career for freedom and to do things that matter, like this.

My track record has me on the right track. When will more catch on? When will more care to take action? Good questions... I'll just lead by example for now.

@alexvan is getting into gear because he gets the importance...


Below are 9 things I've RECYCLED in 2019 from my curbs near my apartment for FREE weighing 692 pounds. Some have been sold, some are recent finds in the process. Forget money, think volume and weight. That's what really matters when you prioritize.

Yes, 692 pounds / 9 items = 77 pounds each


75 pounds of LEGOS + bins. FACT.

There were a ton of mini-figures with accessories and weapons that have been fun to assemble to sell. I found half of this at once this week with the two bins. The rest I was collecting until I found more. I also have another 15+ lbs of sets in bags or that were assembled I'll be selling separately.


72 pound mattress from heaven.

This was only 1.5 years old and retailed for ~$3,200. It was impeccably clean from a move out, so I kept it, and have been sleeping like a baby ever since. It's seriously the most divine mattress I could ever imagine. I smile when I go to sleep, and if I wake up in the middle of this night, I also smile peacefully because it's literally that freaking comfortable.

Where there's a will, there's a way. Yes, it's balancing on a snowboard and grocery hand cart. I'm happy to be writing this on the edge of it now. Full story here.


165 pound automated letter folder/envelope stuffer. Only 2 years old and retailed new for ~$23,000+. Boom.

At my storage unit.


103 pound automatic paper folder. Barely used and works like a charm.


60 pound Crestron audio system. This fell on my ankle when I first tipped it to check its label. It took 3 weeks for my ankle to be pain free. Originally retailed over $6,000.


60 pound Xerox printer. I pulled my back on this when I didn't use my legs... could barely move for 2 days... Guess what, I played baseball through the pain until I reset the knot. Those two games were very painful, but I don't like excuses.


74 pound portable air conditioner. I wheeled this back home half a mile and its wheels were hot to the touch. Retailed for $750.


45 pound air purifier. Mint condition. Retailed at $850.


38 pound fish tank water cooling system. Retailed at ~$400. Two years old and found with a cool overhanging 600W plant grow light.


Bonus... The slow and steady...

COUNTLESS pounds of textbooks, study books and collectible books. I'm probably at 1,000+ pounds in books, no exaggeration. I'm constantly raking in high value books. I practically have a legit college program, graduate program, med school and antiquarian book library in stock at all times.

ENDLESS vacuums. These weight in the 15-20 pound range. Literally one of the easiest cash cows and most common finds in my city. It's sickening, but I save all the good ones I find.


This is just what comes to mind RECENTLY. I've been doing this of the same magnitude for years.

I've found everything you can imagine. I've saved things you wouldn't even believe people put out for recycling.

It's all a joy for me. Sometimes it rains and sometimes it's cold, but I do my part.

I wish more people will get involved in recycling or helping OUR environment in ways they best can.

Really think about this and get motivated to make a dent in your home or local community.

If you like what I'm doing, help me share these messages. It's hard to me to post on Steem these days, but everyone's encouragement when I do keeps me hanging on.


Guess what... it's time to go out in 29 degree weather at 1:45 AM for my SECOND route tonight. No excuses. Just success.

@steemmatt

Sort:  

Just went back and read the mattress story. Sad I missed it at the time, but glad I got a second chance. You must be so strong heaving all those things up to your apartment!

Posted using Partiko Android

The US is a strange place. Pretty sure that if anyone tried to throw any of that out on the street here the police would be called. No wonder something like 30% of the world's resources are consumed by 5% of the world's population there.

With my help, I'd like to think it's down to 29.9995% of the world's resources. It is sickening, and that's why it's impossible for me to ignore it. The entitlement and apathy here makes me want to move to another country where values are more aligned, but I won't do that until I'm done with my baseball career.

Hope you like the weather in Northern Europe

That Lego is a nice haul. I believe I spy an X-Wing set there. Depending which one, if complete could be worth a pretty penny.

The X-Wing was complete with all of the mini-figs, but it wasn't the expensive one. I checked since it had the box with it. Sadly, it fell on the floor of my apartment, so the full assembly was messed up and I put all of the parts in the bin.

Whoever scored all the parts, will enjoy build I'm sure.

I have a guy lowballing me for $230 now, but I'm not budging for higher. I wish he'd see the same value as you do.

If you are able to identify any other sets in the lot, flagging them to potential buyers could help them see the value

I wanna see those BICEPS baby!! LOL... Incredible effort.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

"Keep it going, keep it going, keep it going, FULL STEAM!"

It takes lot of patience to do this everyday, hats off to you.

I consider it heart. My city only has recycling on Monday-Friday, so I go when it's practical on weekdays. I usually go 3-4 nights a week, but can't go too much more because I find too much and can't intake it in my apartment. I recently got a storage unit to help with this. Thanks for reading and your comment.

My neighborhood ain't like that 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha. I know, but many major metro cities in the US have this waste problem. It could be a quick zip by car for some where there's opportunity than in their 'burbs. ...Patch up some abandoned boats!! Plant some trees?

Woa! The price of that letter stuffer! Haven't read about you finding that one, must have missed it. What are you asking for it?

They say it should be worth about $4K used. I called the company with the serial number and got the dates and info on it. No service requests, but I haven't tested it though. I just dumped it in my storage unit and have to go back to take pics/try to assess it.

Astounding highlights there.
That mattress sounds incredible!
What did you do with your old mattress?

The finds keep coming. I do find old and new cameras from time to time. For example, I found this in my building's recycling before it went out to the curb. I broke it down into parts and sold most of it for more than if I sold it as a full unit. From memory, I don't think it had the mic though. Sony DSR-PD150 Professional 3CCD MiniDv Video Camera...


My old mattress was ready for replacement so I brought it out to the curb in a bag for recycling. It wasn't nice enough to donate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64130.23
ETH 3169.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47