My Drum Cover Of Red Hot Chili Peppers - Dani California

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


I haven't touched my drums in over 3 months until tonight, but I got a decent take in under a tight curfew for my new neighbors.

This is also my first time playing this Red Hot Chili Peppers songs since the last "first time" I ever played it over 2 years ago for Open Mic Week 59. That entry was my first drum video on Steemit, earning me honorable mention in the contest.

As for playing today, I negotiated a time slot with my new neighbors and sat down to hammer this out in what I thought would be a comfortable/fun two hours.

...Sadly, stacking my laundry on the snare drum compressed the trigger cone under the mesh head to significantly reduce its sensitivity around the drum head. After research and "MacGyvering", I fixed it with some packing foam and super glue. That chewed up a lot of drum-time though.

With only 40 minutes to reacquaint with the song and get a take that was close enough, I did my best. Ironically, I only finished the song twice tonight and this was the best one. It's not as sharp as I'd like, but for being under the gun after 3 months off my set, and not playing this song in 2 years, it's good enough.

P.S. - For anyone who followed my Steem fitness challenge, I'm now down to 191 pounds, exactly 20 pounds lighter since March, and in the best shape I've been in since as long as I can remember. Everyone takes notice... persistence and good diet pays. I will continue hammering away to get stronger and better to destroy my competition in 5 months when my baseball season comes around.

Thanks for listening.

@steemmatt


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

That sounds so rhythmic🥁! You play great Matt🎶☺️

Thanks a million for taking the time to listen! Glad you liked it.

😊😊😊

Dude that sounded pretty sharp for 3 months off!

As always, love the fills. They roll nicely, and the hi-hat work was nice too.

Are you rocking a double kick?

I'm always playing in my head, on my lap, or on the subway with my feet, so it's easy to sit down and dive right in.

Always a double kick pedal, although I only mainly use it for fills. If I'm paying metal grooves, then I live on it, but it's often the harshest for my neighbors.

Thanks for listening and commenting. Very few do for some reason.

Hearing Chad Smith clap in the distance

Posted using Partiko Android

Are you sure it wasn't his clone Will Ferrell?

Hard to tell

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice MacGuiver'ing! And drum too!!

Guten Tag,

Mein Name ist GermanBot und du hast von mir ein Upvote erhalten. Als UpvoteBot möchte ich dich und dein sehr schönen Beitrag unterstützen. Jeden Tag erscheint ein Voting Report um 19 Uhr, in dem dein Beitrag mit aufgelistet wird. In dem Voting Report kannst du auch vieles von mir erfahren, auch werden meine Unterstützer mit erwähnt. Schau mal bei mir vorbei, hier die Votings Reports. Mach weiter so, denn ich schaue öfter bei dir vorbei.

Euer GermanBot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64407.71
ETH 3414.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62