Rag rug making using old socks - or applying the loom band principle elsewhere...

in #recycling6 years ago

Some time ago I was listening to a gardening programme on the radio and someone mentioned that when their rubber gloves got holes they cut them up and made 'ties'... I was very surprised by this use : it made sense to give some extra life to good quality rubber gloves; so I made a mental note of this.

While trying to tidy up sort some of my bags of 'things-that-can-be-useful--one--day'... I came across a load of odd and not so good socks. The ones in the photo below are really very good quality but after a couple of washes they shrank considerably and are apparently not comfortable anymore.

Besides using them for cleaning which still mean throwing away good material, I kept on thinking what to do with them. There are so many sock monsters that one can actually make...

By chance I came across a youtube tutorial and thought... that's it ! Incidentally, the tutorial I saw is not the one I'm linking to; I just couldn't find the original one. The tutorial I'm linking to shows the same process... I can't speak that language, but I appreciate its content...

I shall show you briefly what I do in case you can't see the tutorial.

And if you have come across loom bands, you will have no problem following the process. Just to digress a little, @jen0revision produced this lovely penguin - though she didn't have any black loom bands at the time - a couple of years ago and won first prize in a local craft show.

Back to our task now.

So the photo below shows you how I cut each sock : cut the elasticated cuff; cut the heel section, and cut the toe section off.

You then cut the two tubes into 3 or 4 strips :

I stretch each one of them - it's amazing how much they can stretch then... have a look:

Have you every used a lucet ? This is like a fork with only two prongs, generally made of wood. I do find that it's a similar process. The photo below shows you how I do the first one. I basically fold each loop in half and then for the very first one I twist it to make a figure of 8 and then I start adding loops.

I fold the next loop in half; place it over my two 'lucet' fingers and aided by my other hand, I take the lower loops over the new ones...

I continue the process creating basically a long strip ...

In the photo I have added the second loop while in the photo below I have already added two and I'm about to add a black loop.

Here's what my gigantic loom band future rug looks like now. Every time I am about to sew the whole thing, new socks are offered to me thus lengthening the fun process...

Also every time I stop I use a pen to hold the 'open' end safe... When I find my lucet, I will use that rather than my fingers... It looks more sophisticated.

I will definitely start sewing it now because it's getting a bit unwieldy to carry around.

Sort:  

What a brilliant idea! Thanks for showing us how to do it! I've always wanted a "rag" rug and I have a lot of old socks too!

You're welcome @artemisnorth... I think that if its get planned properly colour wise it could look quite good... Mine has just grown depending on what I've accumulated / been given.

That's a lot of socks! What a great idea, the rubber gloves, too. I was wondering how the looping worked because it does look a bit like crochet or french knitting. The things is ... what do you do with the heels and toes and cuffs? 😎

Yes, it looks more impressive because I accumulated the socks over a long period of time @shanibeer ...

I tend to use the cuffs for hair bands (not myself... but I offer them when people are desperate). The rest of the left overs tends to go either to the bean bags or for general stuffing :)

I have so many odd socks this is amazing!!!!

Now you know what to do with them @pumpkinsandcats... I will be very interested to see other 'rag' rugs; they can be sewn into any shape as well...

I always wondered how this was done @cryptocariad. I've only rugs like this made from rags before but I assume it is a similar process. 😊

Hello @gillianpearce... There are many types depending on whether the material is in strips or not; many people just plait long strips and then sew them... but you can also crochet or knit them the long strips... I thought this process was quite novel because it used 'sock hoops'... genius !

Yep. I've not seen sock hoops before @cryptocariad. Did you manage to finish it? 😊

I started sewing @gillianpearce... I got slightly distracted while deciding on the shape.
I was tempted to try a mad star shape, but then I opted for the shape of the last photo as it would fit better as a door mat at the back of the house - the dog will love chewing it 😆

I got slightly distracted

Story of my life @cryptocariad. 😂

I'll look forward to seeing some photographs of the finished product some time! 😊

😆 Sure... I may be putting an update on this same post later on @gillianpearce.

I wait with bated breath (whatever that is) @cryptocariad! 😂

great tutorial. Nice rug.


Hi @cryptocariad, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Fiber Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Mondays for Coffee Hour at 3pm EDT in the Steemit Fiberartists on Discord.

Thank you very much @fiberartists.
I really appreciate the interest and the opportunity to promote this textile recycling idea 😊

Hello @cryptocariad, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you very much for the support @creativecrypto !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71