Steemit Record Pool | Song of The Day : Y - The Pharcyde (J. Dilla remix)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #recordpool7 years ago (edited)

dilla-bw-2.jpg

Yesterday I had this great chat with @lethalskills about hip hop finest producer James Dewitt Yancey AKA J. Dilla AKA Jay Dee, where it soon became clear that we both cherish a huge respect for this master mind producer and MC. And from there, my SONG OF THE DAY is a tribute to the genius himself.

James Dewitt Yancey was born in the same year I was born, but unfortunately he died in 2006 as a result of a cardiac arrest. I still vividly remember the towering shock that hits the hip hop community when the news became known. And to be honest, I also had it very hard with it. As a big fan of his work I couldn't digest the idea that his production would stop immediately. But even more, with his passing, we also lose a vision, driving force and more features of a pioneer. For that he was!

SOMETIMES THE WORLD MEANS EVERYTHING TO ME

As I also wrote in my reaction to @lethalskillz, I would plan a Jay Dee- day. Something I often do, like music theme days in which I totally immerse myself in someone's work, by listening to integral discographies. But with the productions of Dilla... that's another story and almost impossible. Or, If I really want to do that, I have to take a vacation for three weeks. Because the man's legacy is immense.
To give you an example, check the link of the free encyclopedia:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/J_Dilla_discography

I READILY, STEADILY STIMULATIN' AND UTILATIN'

Even without planning a J. Dilla- day today, it just happened as a logical consequence of the conversation yesterday.
So, in lovin' memory and to keep alive his legacy, I dedicate this to the one and only Jay Dee... Rest in beats!
Screen Shot 2017-11-22 at 19.03.17.png


The Pharcyde - Y (J Dilla Remix)
Released on 12'' EP, 33 ⅓ RPM
R-1036304-1186690896.jpeg.jpg
Label:Delicious Vinyl ‎
Screen Shot 2017-11-22 at 18.43.46.png

Thanks for your time and till next post!

Warm regards,
@romaan-namoor

Member of:
Screen Shot 2017-11-10 at 11.17.36.png

Sort:  

@romaan-namoor Boooom! J Dilla A Legend who left us amazing archive of great music, i been blessed to meet booty brown of the pharcyde toured with him during his little tour in the middle east, amazing human and artist. Dilla and Pharcye what a solid select for the day, great to wake up to this! Kudos
Dilla Rest in Beats!

Yes, you are blessed indeed If you have had the pleasure to meet Booty Brown. Very nice and far out!
Enjoy your day, filled with a lot of good tunes and till next time!

It looks like it's going to be a Dilla WEEK.

Solid! A steemit Record Pool!

Yes!
Here's the introduction post by @lethalskillz & @vandigital... in case you're thinking of sharing your songs of the day. ;)

https://steemit.com/recordpool/@djlethalskillz/introducing-steemit-record-pool-or-it-s-time-to-curate-great-music

J Dilla always amaze! I love it when he covers the album from The Beach Boy. Pet Sounds: In the Key of Dee :)

Yes, rare album... Love it! But wasn't that an album by Bullion? As a tribute to J. Dilla?

Oops thanks for correction! This album is actually a Bullion mashup as a tribute J. Dilla. The album is indeed rare..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59236.61
ETH 2600.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42