Song of the Day - Missing U by Robyn

in #recordpool6 years ago

Despite my love of underground music, I'd be lying if I said I didn't have a soft spot for well crafted pop music as well. I don't post about it much here since I try and highlight less established artists here, but tonight there is no denying that the new Robyn has ruled my day. I didn't even realize how much I missed her music until last year when Lorde's Green Light hit the radio, closely hitting on the style and topics that Robyn so deftly works in.

See, Robyn at her best operates in a unique place. Most of her songs can most easily be described as "Dance through your Heartache" and it is an art she has perfected in modern pop. Call Your Girlfriend, Hang With Me, Do It Again, and With Every Heartbeat all do this wonderfully giving an adult depth to what could otherwise be fairly standard pop music. Back in 2012, my wife and I got to see her live and she ruled the night with an amazing performance full of energy and acid rifts with the skills of a true entertainer.

To my surprise, she dropped her first solo material in 8 years with Missing U, another ode to heartbreak. The lead arpeggios feel bright and crispy while juxtaposed about another loss in her life. It is more of exactly what I wanted from her this year and I will be unashamed as I sing it with the windows open this summer. Welcome back Robyn. Looking forward to more.

Sort:  

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Great artist! Love her work with Røyksopp aswell!

bet it was an awesome live show. Good share.

Wife and I don't get out much ever since our son came along. Definitely in there as a cherished memory.

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Always appreciate the love. Thank you for what you do for the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54337.36
ETH 2271.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32