Steemit Record Pool: Civilization IV - Baba Yetu

in #recordpool7 years ago

If you've been following me and my music postings, you must be now confused as to what genre of music I fancy..... from my first posting on Indi music by Tristan Prettyman to fingerstyle guitaring and progressive metal..... Now I'm mixing things up again by sharing with you orchestra music.

What my music sharing have in common is that they are all a little less contemporary so many outside of these genres might not know these musicians or composers even exist.

So I'm here to share them with you and you'll be surprise at what kind of songs you would enjoy.

Here's the theme song for the video game 'Civilization IV', a video game series that I've followed since Civ II. The composer and conductor of this song is Christopher Tin who is the first ever person compose a song for a video game that won an Emmy Award and this is that song that won in - 'Baba Yetu'.

The lyrics of "Baba Yetu" (which means "Our Father") is a Swahili language-translation of the Lord’s Prayer.

"Baba Yetu"
Baba yetu, yetu uliye
Mbinguni yetu, yetu amina!
Baba yetu yetu uliye
M jina lako e litukuzwe.

Utupe leo chakula chetu
Tunachohitaji, utusamehe
Makosa yetu, hey!
Kama nasi tunavyowasamehe
Waliotukosea usitutie
Katika majaribu, lakini
Utuokoe, na yule, muovu e milele!

Ufalme wako ufike utakalo
Lifanyike duniani kama mbinguni.
(Amina)

Be sure to tune in as I continue to share other non-contemporary music and stuff you don't hear on the radio.

Here are some that I've shared so far:

Sort:  

Bro, you are all range musician larrr...

Haha all range listener only 😊

I've never played Civilization but this song is in my Spotify playlist (performed by Video Games Live) because yes, this song is that good that you don't have to play the game to enjoy it :) Thanks for sharing the lyrics hahah!

Oh wow someone else that knows this song. Super! 😊

@danielwong, you are good at what you do!
Thumbs up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65650.34
ETH 2646.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87