Song of the day - The Impression that I Get (Mighty Mighty Bosstones)

in #recordpool6 years ago

This is my submission for @recordpool, Song of the Day.

One of the biggest or at least the most well known bands from the third wave ska revival was The Mighty Mighty Bosstones. It found huge mainstream success with this song "The Impression that I get" which was also the release single for their hit album "Let's face it".

Like many of the overtly happy songs from the third wave, the music contains lyrics of great seriousness. In this case, it is describing the situation of two murdered abortion clinic workers.

Lyrics

Have you ever been close to tragedy
Or been close to folks who have?
Have you ever felt a pain so powerful
So heavy you collapse?No?
Well I've never had to knock on wood
But I know someone who has
Which makes me wonder if I could
It makes me wonder if
I've never had to knock on wood
And I'm glad I haven't yet
Because I'm sure it isn't good
That's the impression that I get
Have you ever had the odds stacked up so high
You need a strength most don't possess?
Or has it ever come down to do or die?
You've got to rise above the restNo?
Well I've never had to knock on wood
But I know someone who has
Which makes me wonder if I could
It makes me wonder if I've never had to knock on wood
And I'm glad I haven't yet
Because I'm sure it isn't good
That's the impression that I get
I'm not a coward I've just never been tested
I'd like to think that if I was I would pass
Look at the tested and think there but for the grace go I
Might be a coward
I'm afraid of what I might find out
Never had to knock on wood
But I know someone who has
Which makes me wonder if I could
It makes me wonder if I've never had to knock on wood
And I'm glad I haven't yet
Because I'm sure it isn't good
That's the impression that I get
Never had to but I'd better knock on wood
'Cause I know someone who has
Which makes me wonder if I could
It makes me wonder if I never had to but I'd better knock on wood
'Cause I'm sure it isn't good
And Im glad I haven't yet
That's the impression that I get

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Team Australia footer by bearone
Account banner by jimramones

Sort:  

This clip is very cool too - The Beat

Thanks! I didn't know these guys or this song!

Oh, what a cool song! I don't know a lot of ska, and hadn't heard of these guys, but I really liked it. Head banging here in my chair. Interesting as you say, the contrast between the music and the subject matter. But on the other hand, there is a certain celebration about being lucky to have escaped so far, and being grateful for that.

This comes from the third wave revival of ska which crossed more into punk. The previous versions of ska tied more closely to the dance and reggae roots of the genre.

Ah, closer to punk, no wonder I liked it ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64119.05
ETH 2765.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66