Sort:  

I have never had the pleasure of being able to use fresh figs (I am so envious!) I am not sure how the texture might change, but I know there are recipes on-line for chutney using fresh figs. One recipe suggest using slightly underripe figs.

I know right I'm very lucky - my tree is laden with figs which will be ready in about 4 weeks I hope. I have to fight the birds for them!!! I'm guess it would change the texture with dried figs being quite chewy - I will give it a go and let you know. :)

I think with all the other dried fruit it will still have a nice texture. Just imagine all the great things you'll be able to make! You'll have to stand watch closer to harvest time and guard that fruit (lol).

lol my brother also has a fig tree - he has way too much time on his hands as he wraps every fig in muslin and ties it up like a little parcel :D The birds don't have a chance at his house!!

I saw a video once about these pears or apples in Japan and they do that there. I was reading about how to protect our organic apples and quickly decided that that would not be feasible for us. Your brother sure has patience. I would love to see a photo of his fig tree and yours.

I'm due to do a post shortly of my impatience waiting for things to ripen - I will get photos for sure :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57868.91
ETH 2362.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36