Soda Bread - Maverick Style

in #recipes8 years ago

Soda bread, beloved of the gods. Normally made with buttermilk and other such goodies. Here is my emergency maverick Soda bread. It's fantastic and doesn't have buttermilk because let's face it's not just something you always have lying around!!

So I find myself today hungover and a little sorry for myself. Well I know what I normally do when feeling a bit meh... I bake me some bread.

So imagine my horror when I find that I am out of yeast?! Enter the soda bread! No yeast, just bicarb of soda.

I apologise to the purists out there, this one is not your typical soda bread. But it still tastes fantastic!

You will need

450 grams of strong white flour
50 grams of rolled oats
1 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda
1 big tablespoon of black molasses (oh yeah!)
400 mls of milk
1 tablespoon of lemon juice

No buttermilk or wholemeal flour you cry? Indeed, hence the maverick in the title!

To make

Get your oven on at 200 degrees celcius

Mix your flour, salt, bicarb of soda and oats in a bowl

Pile in the molasses, you might need a finger to spleb it off the spoon

Combine your milk and lemon juice and add to the mix

Give that a good stir and wallop it into a bread tin. Yes, I know, a bread tin... Maverick!!

Bake for forty minutes, then get it out and cool on a rack

Cor blimey!! Would you look at that guv!!

Slice it, wallop a spicy habanero omelette in it and BOOM

Or just eat it straight up, like a hombre!!

Sort:  

May I have some? Looks awesome

Of course, and thank you!!! :0)

Hi @meesterboom I need to know if you can help me with a question? I put my entry in for the culinary challange#15 Roast it, however I don't see my entry where the other entries are. Did mine get included, do you know? I'm very confused as to what else I need to do. Or even when it's being judged?
Help? Thanks @happyhousewife

Hello, I will have a look for you!

Hello, I am pretty sure she has included you. The results dont come out till tomorrow or maybe even Friday. I saw the comments and I think she is happy to accept your entry this time because you are new(ish) but in future you have to include the piece pf paper with your name and steemit and the date on it in a couple of photos of the food. Its to make sure there is no kind of cheating. e.g people entering photos of stuff they have made in the past kind of thing.

So relax, I am pretty sure you are in :O)... 15 cloves of garlic... my kind of cooking ;o)

Thank you so much. Garlic is my favorite. Have a great day

You too lass! :O)

I have never tried sida bread. Looks lovely :)

It's not bad at all. The traditional stuff is amazing, this stuff is almost as good!!

I love bread, by bread lol

HAhaha, me too! You might have noticed ;o)

Nowt wrong with that :)

Haha bake look cool this way :P

It sure does! Cheers for checking it out!

Wow! I can't say for certain I've tasted this, but it looks very familiar. Whenever I see soda, I immediately think of the fizzy drink, but then I remember soda crackers exist as well. The addition of the molasses really puzzles me. Does it make everything taste sweet?

BTW, I just made my first food/recipe post today inspired by all your entertaining recipe posts. I gave you a shoutout and I hope you would be able to see it :D

I just finished reading it as a matter of fact! Well done!

The molasses doesnt add any discernible sweetness at all. Coupled with the salt it just helps create a savoury background to the bread. You have to add something to Soda bread because the bicarb of soda actually has a taste of its own which is slightly tart/sour. By adding a little something, often honey or sugar you hide that but not by making it sweet. I use mollases for that a an for the colour because soda bread is rarely white! Also I flipping love mollases! Technically it is often made with wholemeal flour. With mine you would never know lol!

Funny story, I actually ate bicarb of soda by accident when I was younger because I thought it was a sweet powder. I coughed it out and lost my taste for 2 days. Hmm.. turns out it wasn't a funny story after all.

Ahh! I see! It's one of the joys I find in cooking. Taken separately, the ingredients tastes different than when they're combined. You really know your way around the kitchen. Are you, by chance, a professional chef?

When a bunch of us were kids we dared each other to try the smalles bit of it on a teaspoon. Yeek. I still remember the horrifying sensation that it gave me!

Haha, thats quite the compliment!! No, not in the slightest. I watched lot of cooking shows on tv over the last few years since my daughter was born out of sheer exhaustion! That was pretty much it! Then a bit of practice and it all sort of makes sense

Oh, wow! I didn't know you were a fellow student of the school of Culinary TV. Obviously, you have gone much further than I have :D My family always asks me what I get out of watching cooking shows when I don't even cook daily. I always tell them that this is all research and, given a whisk or a spatula, I could whip up a wide array of food at a snap of a finger haha

Admittedly, I think practice is what I lack. Time to put my reps in so I could be just like you! Give me 3-5 years and I might be able to catch up to where you are presently haha

Lol, Give it a month or so maybe! I will be kind to myself and say a couple of months!

It does give you a lot of knowledge so that when you make something you know some of the pitfalls to avoid!

Yeah, definitely! Have you watched Iron Chef? The Japanese version of that show really got me into cooking. I guess you could say it was my gateway to the culinary arts. Nowadays, I imagine myself as a contestant in Cutthroat Kitchen whenever I cook to keep me on my toes. It stresses the people around me though haha!

I have seen the British version. I understand the other versions that are out there are much better. I did like it. Over here we are big masterchef fans!

I don't think I would fancy being a contestant in any of them. It's intense and usually very serious! The opposite of me!

Oh, Masterchef! Yes, I'm a big fan of that as well :D Though, I much prefer the kids version for some reason. Even if their half my size, their much more better cooks than I am!

Yeah haha I'd bet. I much prefer your laid back style of cooking. I don't respond well to high pressure scenarios. I prefer just having fun while you're cooking

Oh yes, this is what we want and need. Give us more!!!!!

I will do my best... Cheers!!! :0)

Great Steemit handle!!!!

Did you hear my stomach grumble all the way over here brother?

Beauty. I love seeing the stuff others eat but esp. in their countries and their customs.

@gringalicious' posts make me drool I think every time on her food art stuff, which is what I started calling it, since that is clearly what it is.

Have a good week buddy.

Oh yes her stuff is quite plainly art and doubtless tasty! I go just for the tasty!!

Here to a grumbling stomach! Have a good one too dude!!

well that looks amazing!
now I just need to convert grams, liters and celsius into something I understand.

Hehe, yeah. You have a point. Maybe I should put cups 'n stuff alongside the metric measures!! ;0)

You been on much? I haven't seen you around. Tis always nice when I do!

Thanks, @meesterboom. I've been working 40 hours a week for a steady paycheck so I'm not here are often as I'd like to be -- but I think about you all every day.

I know that feeling lass, only too well!! It's lovely to see you on :0)

That looks nice and dense. Good work on getting it to rise without having big holes inside! You've got the touch! Enjoy that bread!

Ah those big holes! The curse of the baker! I havent had them for a while thankfully. When I first started I used to always get a big massive one at the top but realised I was proving it too long.

Hmmm. Thanks for that tip!

The bread looks very tasty. I was expecting to see some sort of Tom Cruise-Top Gun style baking in this post, which in my head would look something like Paul Hollywood in a fighter pilot jacket.

I must work on that mahogany tan!!! ;0)

Beautiful when slightly cool with lashings of butter and jam mmmmm - takes me back to my childhood as my mum use to make this all the time - the Irish in her!
Love the post :)

AAAAR! Thank you! It's a lovely thing and exactly like you say just cooled with jam and butter!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57864.53
ETH 2454.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34