Hearty Vegetable Soup (easy and quick)

in #recipes8 years ago (edited)

Heal thyself!

Sometimes when you have drank a little too much and stayed up late the night before you need something a little restorative the next day.

Bring on this hearty healing vegetable soup, curer of worlds ills and banisher of shadows.

You will need

2 intimidatingly big carrots
6 small potatoes
1 medium onion
Half a teaspoon of cumin
Quarter of a teaspoon of coriander
Salt and black pepper
A little oil for frying
A pint of vegetable stock

To make

Coarsely chop everything but leave one half of a carrot and the potatoes aside for the jazzy bit later

Bang all the chopped stuff in a large pot on a medium heat with your oil. Add your cumin, coriander, salt and pepper then stir fry this a bit before adding a pint of vegetable stock. Now reduce to a low heat and simmer for about twenty minutes.

Now the jazzy bit, chop your remaining carrot and potatoes into small cubes

Now put these in a smaller pot and simmer for ten minutes or so until soft but not too soft.(you can stick a knife in and if it sinks in easily then they are ready)

Now put these to the side

By this time your big pot should be ready. Stick it in a blender and whizz it up.

Return your soup to the pot and add your little cubed carrots and potatoes.

Stir it all together and then serve up.

Enjoy the healing power of Sunday Soup!

Sort:  

It is, it's bringing me back from the brink!

You are slipping mate, even I love a good spicy soup when I'm poorly!
Pho! I make a spicy garlicky kale and (veg)sausage soup.
Can't wait for winter to start pulling out these recipes!

Lol, normally I like a right spicy noodle sort of soup but today I just wanted to crawl away and hide!!

Btw, that soup sounds ace put it up before winter, I expect to be hungover lots more before that!! 😀

"intimidatingly big".... LOL

I did chuckle writing that!

this is a little like what I know as ABC Soup in Singapore.
The ingredients are mostly same but we mostly add pork ribs or chicken and do not run the carrots and potatoes through the blender.
Don't really know why is called ABC Soup here but I heard someone told me it's because the ingredients provide the vitamins A, B and C. I did search abit and found this:
http://www.suanie.net/2014/12/recipe-chinese-abc-soup/
It offers another theory for ABC - simple to make as ABC.
My stomach is not well today. So, maybe I should get a bowl of ABC soup at the food court nearby.

That looked quite an awesome soup. I quite like soups that aren't blended. It all depends on the mood, yesterday was a velvety soup mood! I would definitely try an ABC soup in future they look kinda funky. Except for the one with the whole sweetcorn poking out!

More often, the corn is not included. guess it depends on your taste. The corn gives a bit of sweetness to the soup.

That looks great :)) Yummy! I love soups :)) mmmm

Soups just rawk don't they!

@meesterboom
Looks very yummy ❤️👍👍👍✅✅✅

Job already done 👍

Cheers dude it is indeed!

Oh man, that looks so healthy, I will deff try it im gonna bookmark this one

Its that kind of hangover cure health that I needed today!

Now I want to cook some vegetable soup! Thanks for sharing :)

Its a pleasure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44