Homemade KALE CHIPS Recipe! 😋 PAPRIKA, CURRY, MOROCCAN!!

in #recipes7 years ago (edited)

Hey friends!

So every now and again I get on the health bandwagon! The thing that appealed to me the MOST about this recipe was the CHIPS parts of Kale Chips!!! LOL. So I decided to give it a crack! And they worked out! Woohoo! I've had Kale Salads before and was like, GROSS! It's like just trying to eat a whole bunch of GRASS! Haha. But I was really pleasantly surprised at whole delicious these turned out!

So I've included the recipe and instructions below the picture!

Home made Kale Chips
Photo by ME of my Kale Chips!!

Step 1:

Line 2 large trays with baking paper.

Preheat the oven to 180°C or 160°C fan forced.

Step 2

Wash your Kale! It does come from the earth and bugs aren't strangers to Kale either, but it's really important the Kale it DRY before you put it in the oven, otherwise it will be all soggy. Due to the nature of Kale it might need a lettuce spinner to get it dry!

Trim the stems from the Kale and rip it into small sized pieces.

Step 3

Combine olive oil, and your spice of choice into a large bowl. (Not all the spices at one time, if you want different flavours, make each one in a different bowl!) Mix in the Kale and toss it around to coat the Kale it in the mixture. Don't drench it in oil though!! Start with less and add more if you think it needs it.

Spread the Kale out on the trays, make sure they are not overlapping each other.

Step 4

Bake in the oven for 12-15 minutes, and then rotate the trays (or swap from the top to the bottom) and then bake for another 10 minutes, or until the Kale is crisp.

Step 5

You can add a little salt and let cool for a few minutes, and then eat!

I might be a bit weird but my favourite out of the difference spices I tried was actually the Curry Powder! It reminded me of Curried Eggs my Mum used to make us as kids! Important not too put too much spice though as it clogs up

Have you made Kale Chips before? What spices or flavouring did you use?! Would you eat these?

Sort:  

Mmm I'm a sucker for chips, will bookmark this.

Cheers @tomekkk - I generally like my chips with a burger aha but these are good too!

I recently tried both curry and paprika in my homemade mac and cheese (I am always experimenting) and I LOVED it! I need to try your recipe here, sounds great!

Omg I love Mac and Cheese, I would never have thought to do that! Thank you @raincountry you might have just changed my life haha.

It looks tasty. Your photo is very pretty. I will follow you because I like having recipe ideas like this one. Thank you

Thanks mate! :) Followed you too, be good to see what you get up to!

These look yummie - I;m sharing! 😃

Cheers @ronmamita ! They sure were, they didn't last long!

Beautiful, I love Kale and I loooove smoked Paprika lol. I have a lot of Kale recipes on my Youtube page. I will try to bring one of the latest salads I did to here today. It can be really tasty if made with the right ingredients and cut properly. There is a real nasty bitter flavor in the central arteries of the plant that some times people dont know to trim.

Cool will look out for it @healthyrecipe ! It takes a lot of work to trim it down really, considering how much get you at the end, so I can understand how people get sloppy with the trimming and then think it's gross! Haha

Lol, just have to look for as big the leaves as possible, the only part you have to really trim is the main big artery, the others are ok and are not really bitter.

True that, a little time at the market saves time in the kitchen! :)

Kale chips are delightful, and can even be made healthier without the olive oil...I use Balsamic vinegar and lots of spices for seasoning.

Oooo I LOVE Balsamic Vinegar! Why have I not tried that? Next on the list, thanks for the comment @innerlight ! Gave you a follow for that gold nugget of advice haha.

Looks tasty ..What exactly is Kale ??? is it like an herb or something ??
Upvoted ! - @Utfull

Technically it's cabbage? It's overpriced green leafy stuff really.... haha.

Definitely the best way to eat kale.

The only way even? Hahaha

Have you ever juiced it? Yuck!

I've been meaning to make some kale chips because all I see are posts raving about how awesome kale chips are. I've never been a kale fan but I am going to make these! Upvoted & resteemed :)

Thanks! I would say it's over-hyped but they are a good snack!

Love my Kale chips. I use finely grated Parmesan on mine. Delish! Have to try with the Paprika today.. All our winter kale is begging to be used Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63047.55
ETH 2690.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54