Cheesy Pumpkin Almond bread – gluten and grain free

in #recipes6 years ago

So we had a big block of cheese which was a bit stronger tasting than usual and @sift66 went and bought something a bit milder for nibbling on. Hmm, what shall I do with over 600gm of cooking cheese? Cheesy bread!

In the fridge, we also had some leftover roast pumpkin, and four egg whites left over from putting egg yolks in my smoothies. So I decided to throw them all together in the bread. Fair warning, this was an experiment, not a tried and true recipe. But apart from when the baking paper caught on fire on the oven element, it went ok.

cheesy-bread0.jpg

The Process

I turned on the oven to about 170C, then into the food processor went:

• 500gm / 5 cups blanched ground almonds / almond flour
• 180gm / 2 cups grated tasty cheddar cheese

I mixed them up a bit together, then transferred to a large bowl. Second lot of things into the food processor was:

• 4 whole eggs
• 4 egg whites (normally that would be 2 extra whole eggs)
• 180gm / 1 cup cooked pumpkin
• ½ cup homemade yoghurt
• 2 ml mustard
• 1 tsp sea salt
• 1.5 tsp baking soda

Once they were well combined, I poured the mix into the dry ingredients and mixed it all up. We had some workmen in the house today, fitting a high speed broadband modem, so I was a bit distracted and didn’t remember to take a photo of the mix till some of it had already gone into the lined loaf tin.

cheesy-bread1.jpg

cheesy-bread2.jpg

Since I had to take it out of the oven to put out the fire at one point, I lost track of how long I cooked it for, but probably just over an hour.

Reminder to self – if the top element in your oven droops down a bit, a) preheat the oven a little extra and turn it down once your item is in, b) trim the baking paper and/or c) FFS make sure the tin is pushed far enough into the oven, so that the paper isn’t touching the element, ya dozy bitch!

The Verdict

cheesy-bread3.jpg

It wasn’t quite as cheesy as expected, and I could still taste the pumpkin a little, so another time, I’d use ¾ cup each yoghurt and pumpkin. And because of the cheese, it had quite a brown crust. But overall, reasonably successful.

cheesy-bread4.jpg

What happened to the rest of the cheese?

That got grated up and bagged, and put into the freezer for next time I want to make cheesy bread or my grain free cheese muffins or scones

Thanks for reading

Check out @woman-onthe-wing’s #makeithealthy project

Images by myself or @sift666, unless otherwise stated.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

Looks really nice, what did you eat it with?

Sift had some nut butter on his and I had some pate.

Something different, it doors look nice :)

Hahaha maybe its a touch brown coz it got char grilled :D

No, the char grilling is the little black flecks on top! Hopefully they don't show up!

It looks real good when you slice it. How does it taste?

I love cheese

Once you get some other stuff on top (like pate, or nut butter) it's fairly neutral. Not as neutral as a wheat bread, but less cheesy than I thought it would be. I love cheese too...

Great snack ♥

How did the work and construction go this week?

I'm rounding off about 40 days of teaching then headed to America for a three week vacation. Enjoy the rest of the evening. Is it cold down there?

It looks good inside Deb. You had me laughing about the burning of the paper. Sometimes burned food tastes alright. Mom used to tell me it was good for the teeth. 😂

Luckily I managed to put out the fire with a frying pan lid before it spread too far! You would have laughed even more seeing me ineffectually batting at it with the oven glove before thinking of the large pan lid.

wow mam baking is my hobby i will try this😍😍 thanks for sharing mam 😘😘

I hope you enjoy it. Have you been away from Steemit for a while? Welcome back!

thank you mam yeah i was bxy in my exams :)

How did the exams go?

Ooooh this looks pretty darned delicious @kiwideb I’ve made one very similar but wouldn’t know which one of my many cooking scrapbooks to go looking for it so I will save this recipe and see if mine turns out as good as yours. 😁

That's the problem with cooking scrapbooks, isn't it? Report back on how it goes.

So true Deb. I have indexed a couple of my scrapbooks but have too many to be that organised. I will get back to you with the results and hopefully my bread will look and taste as good as yours. 😁

This looks wonderful, @kiwideb. The texture looks great and I know all about parchment paper catching on fire. I use it when I'm cooking and have had quite a few scares. I'm in a hotel room now, so I do not cook for myself, but when I do, I love to bake bread. I've done cheesy bread and I am always surprised how non-cheesy it turns out.

Thank you so much for your support on my posts lately. This means so much to me. I am continuing as best I can and trying not to worry about the future. You are helping me more than you know.

Cheers from Bangkok and I sure wish I could eat some of that bread!

I think they've changed how the parchment is made. It seems to catch fire much more easily now, and doesn't bend to fit the pan as well as it did.

Glad to know I'm helping :-)

I know! My mom used it a lot when I was growing up in the 60's and 70's . I used to help her with baking and it was much softer back then. Who knows what they did to it!

mmmmmmmmmmmmm i'm so hungry and i want a slice of this RIGHT NOW hahhahh

There's still some in the fridge. It has kept really well. You'd love it!

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66