You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: No-potato fries, and NZ vs US sweet potatoes

in #recipes7 years ago (edited)

I wonder if we have those in the Philippines hmm Looks delicious! We have sweet potato, not sure about yams though. Is there any way to quickly tell if something has starch without researching them on the internet?

Sort:  

Yes, put a drop of iodine on it. If the iodine stays golden, no starch. If there is starch it will go either dark brown or black, depending which kind of starch.

Remember that no-starch is a remedial diet for people with gut problems (or if they've had the AMY1 gene test done, and know they genetically produce very little amylase) - there's no need to avoid starch if you digest it fine.

Ohhh that's interesting, put iodine on the object or do I have to dip it in liquid first?

Drip iodine on the item. Here's a pic of some foods that I've dripped iodine on, some are starch free and some have starch. See the cauli is still quite golden but the bread in front of it has black.

starch_test.jpg

Oh wow! I didn't imagine it to look like that! If you haven't told me, I swear I would think the food had gone rotten. It's still safe to eat even with the iodine, right? The black marked ones looks so unappetizing. There's science for you, folks haha!

No, that's for the purposes of testing only. Test a small portion and eat the rest. It would be not very nice tasting with the iodine.

Ahh I see. Yeah, I remember iodine splashing on my in chemistry class. Not a taste I would want to repeat. So bitter. But, is it hazardous to eat though?

As long as it's food or pharmaceutical grade , no it's not hazardous. In fact, so many people are iodine deficient, it's probably beneficial. But that's not how I would take supplemental iodine. I usually put it on my skin to absorb at it's own rate, or would take it in water. If ingesting, you need to gradually increase your dose, then later on gradually decrease it again.

The water one I've seen. It's cool that it could be done through skin, since iodine is a disinfectant as well. That way it serves a dual purpose haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59