Tres Leche Cake - Get a load of this!

in #recipes8 years ago

I have never really liked cake. Always found it too dry. Ever since I was a kid, I copied my dad who poured milk over cake in a bowl. It's really the only way to get it down. So growing up, when my mom would ask what kind of cake I wanted for my birthday, I would say cheesecake because it was the only cake I knew of that I could stomach. Years later and my family still thinks I love cheesecake not realizing that it's really all other cakes that I don't like.

Anyway, you ever had a tres leche cake? Oooh mama. So moist. So sweet. I made one last night and will be sharing at least the pictures with you today. :)

It really isn't too hard to do and it will impress the hell out of people. Here is what you need:

First, preheat the oven to 325, or follow the instructions on the box. Then, in a mixing bowl, mix up the cake mix, 2 tsp of vanilla, 1 tbsp of oil, and four eggs.

Oh yeah, lookin creamy!

Then spray a 13 by 9 inch pan:

Pour the batter into the pan like so:

Now pop that in the oven for about 25 minutes until it is done and a toothpick comes out clean. After that, use a fork to make holes all over the top of the cake. That's to let the leches sink in real nice.

It's not too pretty but it doesn't matter because you're going to frost over the top, and no matter how it looks, how it will taste is amazing guaranteed!

Next step: Mix your milks: one can of sweet condensed, 8 ox of whole or evaporated milk, and 1 cup of whipped cream. When you have that mixture ready, pour it all over the top of the cake, like so:

Okay, now, put the cake in the fridge for one hour. I know . . . more waiting. While I was waiting I watched this little documentary on HAARP:

Lots of good info there and it will make you want to bury your feelings in your upcoming cake.
Alright, it's been an hour! Finally. Take the cake out and frost it!

Oh my gosh, once the frosting is complete, the cake is done!!! Eat it!!!

So moist, so sweet, so simple! I have been really enjoying eating and sharing this cake. I hope you get a chance to make one yourself sometime! Best wishes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56618.92
ETH 2337.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40