How to make Blini - Russian Pancake Recipe

in #recipes8 years ago (edited)

RUSSIAN BLINI RECIPE

Today....

 I wanted to share a special recipe of Blini ( they are very think pancakes like crepes).

My grandmother taught me how to cook and blini was the first thing I learned how to make. They are extremely special to me and always remind me of my babushka ( grandmother). She raised me and I am so grateful to her for everything. I lost her to cancer 2 years ago and cooking is one way of expressing my love for her and food. 

I wanted to share this special recipe with you.  

Blini (Russian crepes) is absolutely my most favorite breakfast. Widely popular Russian dish, especially eaten during the Maslenitsa festival in Russia and Latvia. All kinds of fillings are possible--sweet or savory. Thin layered Blini are also popular throughout a year, being served with different fillings and topped with sour cream or butter. The Russian word for blini is блины and alternative spellings include blintzes, bliny and blinchiki. 


Ingredients :

2 cups or 500 ml of milk 

3 Eggs 

1 1/3 cups or 280 gr of flour 

1-2 tbsp of Sugar

1 tsp of salt 

3 tbsp of vegetable oil 

Butter for greasing finished pancakes


Directions:

Step 1 : Mix your eggs with sugar and salt. Add milk and mix again. 

Step 2 : Add flour and oil and mix well. it will be nice and thin batter.

Step 3 : Add a bit of butter or oil into your pan. Pour one ladle of the pancake mixture an cook for few minutes on each side until cooked and golden. 

Step 4 : Enjoy with sweet or savoury fillings! Yum!


Translation for Russian speaking people: Русский перевод ниже.

Сладкие блинчики можно полить медом, сгущенкой, вареньем или растопленным шоколадом. Блинчики подавать горячими, с красной или черной икрой, слабосоленой семгой, форелью, сельдью и т.п. В блинчики можно завернуть любую начинку - как несладкую (мясную, рыбную, грибную или овощную), так и сладкую (творожную, фруктовую, ягодную).

молоко - 500 мл,

яйца - 3 шт,

мука - 280 г,

сахар - 1-2 столовых ложки,

соль - 1 чайная ложка (без горки),

растительное масло - 3 столовых ложки,

сливочное масло для смазывания готовых блинчиков

 


Enjoy ;)

What is your favourite pancake topping? If you like this post and want to see more, click on my name below and click Follow!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RXnAE9LTyfU

Alla x0x

Sort:  

Very well written Alla!
Looking forward to more sweet treats from you in the near future!

Thank you so so much :) Will do :) I love cakes, sweets and desserts!

I love anything even remotely related to crepes. I'm a total slut for breakfast food lmao. Thanks for sharing!

OMG this is my favourite comment so far! I have never heard this phrase I'm a total slut for breakfast food! I love it... and i might have have to steal that! its just too good! :D

Dat video :P
Great job. So excited to see you on board! Keep it up!

Thank you so much! So excited for our group!! :))) hahah glad you liked the video :P

Wow this looks amazing!

Favorite topping? Chocolate of course!!

heheh :) well imagine if I tell you there are chocolate pancakes with nutella filling! :P

Now this is just psychological torture! ;)

Im making these tomorrow! Tasty, tasty, tasty!

yeah they are perfect for the weekend ))

I am Russian/Jewish, and blinis/blintzes are a staple for us. In my family, we like to eat them as is, or stuff them with cheese or jellies.

Спасибо (spasibo), thank you for sharing!

You are really welcome, it is indeed a staple food i think in any Easter European country and also from Soviet Union times! Love it :)) Pozhalusto :)

Do you know the main difference between Russian and French crepes? They seems identical to me. No offence.

They are pretty much the same thing, but we call them blini :)

God I love these, thanks for the recipe. Will make them!

Right!?? they are the best :) soo good with anything! This recipe makes a lot, so half it if you are making just for you :P

Thanks! Though I don't think you can actually make too many of these =p

100 % agreed :)))

Looks delicious! Also, shouldn't be too difficult for a novice like me. :) Keep it going! Look forward to more from #steemianfoodnetwork.

yay me too!! thanks so much :))) its super easy, you will be a pro on your first go ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59322.53
ETH 2584.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45