How to make easy Iced Lattes like a BOSS

in #recipes8 years ago (edited)


Full disclosure: around here, we're lightweights when it comes to coffee. And by lightweights, I'm not even talking about just the caffeine. We're those 'fake' coffee drinkers who order things like French Vanilla Cappuccinos from Tim Horton's, or Mocha Frappuccinos from Starbucks. You know, those orders where the coffee takes a back seat to other ingredients like cream and sugar.
When my brother-in-law visits, we get schooled in what it means to be a serious coffee drinker. He grinds his beans with a hand grinder to achieve just the right coarseness and then brews it with a French press. He may be even slicker than that now -- I wouldn't be surprised if he uses some kind of vacuum press percolator contraption that squeezes out a thimble's worth of bean juice in an hour, which he designed himself.
That said, I had a couple of average coffee drinkers staying with me this past weekend and made them this recipe and it passed with flying colours. (You know people really like something when they ask for the recipe -- it's the best kind of compliment in my books.)
I made this batch for C and me this afternoon, and like good lightweights, I opted for decaf, as it was later in the day and we'd be up 'till dawn if I'd made it with regular grounds. (Works wonderfully with either, by the way.) The other nice thing about this recipe? No fancy coffee equipment required.
My brother-in-law is visiting this weekend; I'll let you know how my iced lattes hold up to the ultimate test. If you're as serious as he is about his caffeine, let me know what you think!
Here's what you need:
2 cups strongly brewed regular or decaf coffee (I just make a pot and pull 2 cups from that)
1 can Carnation evaporated milk
2 tablespoons white sugar
1 tablespoon hot chocolate mix
ice cubes

Make a pot of coffee, and once brewed, draw 2 cups from your pot and set aside to cool while you mix the rest of the ingredients.

In a large bowl (one with a spout, if you have it), add your entire can of Carnation milk.

Add sugar and hot chocolate mix and whisk until well combined.



Add three or four ice cubes to a nice tall glass (or glasses, if you're enjoying this with others).

Now, add your coffee and mix well.
Slowly pour your latte over ice and enjoy!

Makes 4 servings.

Try another one of my recipes

Blueberry Muffins
French Bread

Sort:  

cool
great post !
thank you @aimeeathome
welcome to steemit

I'm just about to go to the grocery store, so I'll try this out today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67756.28
ETH 3792.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65