How to make Blueberry Muffins like a BOSS

in #recipes8 years ago (edited)

First things first: just as I finished writing this post, my husband came through the kitchen door with my new Steemit apron in hand. It's official. And thank you to my better half for investing in this little blogging adventure of mine. 

Now, on to the cooking segment. This is my eldest daughter going for a bite of blueberry muffin -- she couldn't wait for the picture to be taken! 

They're my default choice if I'm out ordering a muffin and tea. Blueberry muffins just seems to be the right amount of indulgence: not too heavy, not too light. And that lovely fresh sensation you get when you bite into a juicy, warm berry surrounded by that delectable, moist, substantial cake... oh, man. And here's the real bonus: nearly everyone likes blueberry muffins so if you decide to make this SUPER easy recipe, you'll be sure to please everyone. Before we go any further, I'll give credit where it's due: cooksillustrated.com. I've followed their recipe fairly closely, with a few minor changes. In this particular instance, I'll call them shortcuts. 

This is my second post on Steemit; we've been busy here at my house entertaining so I haven't been able to post again as quickly as I would have liked. And don't worry, those requests you made for your favourites are not lost -- I'll tackle them in the near future. For now, enjoy eating these simple, melt-in-your-mouth (cuz they've got butter AND sour cream) blueberry muffins. Don't forget that generous dollop of cold salted butter on your warm muffin. NOTE: the recipe makes 12 muffins perfectly but my husband loves raw dough so I saved a serving for him! 

Here's what you need: 

1 regular muffin pan + cooking spray

2 cups all purpose flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon table salt

1 large egg

1 cup granulated sugar

4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled a bit

1 1/4 cups sour cream (10 oz)

1 1/2 cups frozen blueberries (either cultivated or wild, whichever you've got on hand)

GO!

You're cooking on the middle oven rack so position accordingly and set the oven to 350 degrees F to preheat. Spray your muffin tray with cooking spray. Be fairly liberal. 

Whisk the flour, baking powder and salt together in a largish bowl. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk your egg until well combined. 

Then add the sugar and whisk this combination until well combined, about 30 seconds.

Add the melted butter, in two steps (this step is sloppy and the butter splatters easily so be sure to whisk slowly as you begin to incorporate the butter, then you can speed up). 

Then add the sour cream in several steps and whisk until just combined. 

Add the blueberries to the flour mixture you set aside, and toss softly to combine. 

Then, add in the wet ingredients  to this blueberry mixture and fold it for about half a minute until it's just mixed (it's OK that there's a few pockets of dry in amongst the sticky mess of dough).

Using an ice cream scoop, divide the dough evenly across a 12-muffin tray. 

Bake for 25 to 30 minutes. Muffins are ready when the top bounces back to a light touch of the fingers, they're slightly browned, and if you like, a wooden skewer or knife inserted in the centre muffin, in its centre, comes out clean. 

Enjoy! 

## Try another one of my recipes ## [Iced Lattes](https://steemit.com/recipes/@aimeeathome/how-to-make-easy-iced-lattes-like-a-boss) [French Bread](https://steemit.com/easy/@aimeeathome/how-to-make-the-best-crusty-french-bread-like-a-boss)
Sort:  

The muffins look great and the Steemit aprono eventi better ;)
Is the logo printed on the apron in photoshopped? If printed where did you get it?

Here's my post on where to get the apron: https://steemit.com/steemit/@aimeeathome/how-to-order-a-steemit-apron
Thanks for asking!

Thanks for telling!

You killed it with that Steemit apron :D The muffins look delicious :)

I know, right?!

Nicely documented to the end product which I'm sure is very yummy.

This is genuinely a great post....I liked reading it. Thanks

MRW I saw those muffins:

..yeah, I get excited about food.

ME TOO! Great meme.

yummy, i've bookmarked this for later!

Look delicious.. i want to try..😀

Great post! I really appreciated the uncooked batter part. :)


I love STEEMIT... oooh.. me too! is not impressive? yes yes yes yes yes!

Those look deliciously good! 👍🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61159.70
ETH 2631.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63