My new recipe: mint syrup.

in #recipe8 years ago

 Today I want to share with you my new interesting recipe. I did it the first time, it was a  spontaneous idea and still do not know what will happen, but I hope it will be delicious.

In summer I  usually collect  a lot of different herbs. I love to enjoy my herbal tea during a long cold winter. Becides it is very helpful, if someone  catch a cold or have a headache, or  insomnia, or something alse.

Usually among these herbs are St. John's wort, yarrow, meadowsweet, currant leaves and ect., and of course MINT. This, is a French mint, or it is also called applemint. It has a wonderful sweet flavor and it is not as vigorous as the pepermint.

             

                                                              my witch treasures 

This mint I usually gather in a deserted village, there it was growing in the gardens of the inhabitants, and when people left this  place, mint has grown over on large areas.

I usually add mint in tea and fruit drinks. But today I got the bright idea to make mint syrup. 

 I took mint and  bottle (volume 1 liter).   

     

Filled the bottle with mint to the half

    

         

 Then make a syrup by boiling 800 ml of water with 350 grams of sugar. This is the approximate ratio. The syrup was not very sweet, but that as I pland. 

 Fill the bottle with hot  syrup and close it with stopper.

      

Due to the small amount of sugar I will keep the mint syrup in a fridge and I will shake the bottle every day for 2 weeks minimum, then filter it and look, what it looks like.

I'm not exactly sure how it will turn out, it was a pure experiment. If someone else has already done so, please share your experience.

I  think that such a syrup can be added to ice cream,  cocktail, various  desserts, handmade chocolate, also I can make a mint liqueur  :) 

So I will be happy to know your opinion here in comments.

 I wish you an easy Friday!

 Sincerely yours @witchcraftblog 

   

Sort:  

Hi @witchcraftblog! This is to let you know that your post is featured on the Steemitrecipes Daily Picks - Entry 016!

wow! its great! thank you @steemitrecipes

Let us know how it turned out!

I will make a desser with this and post it :)

Wonderful! I always have a jug of fresh mint on my drawing table- the aroma is awakening.

oh, its great @opheliafu! when I made the syrup, the smell was divine throughout all our apartment :)

you have a new follower - Steem ON!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44