[RECIPE WALKTHROUGH] Korean Hot Pot aka Budae-Jjigae ... hot, steamy, comforting goodness!

in #recipe7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians!

As Spring has finally come along in Australia, I'm relieved. I dislike the cold and Winter is by far my least favourite time of the year. It's cold, dark, gloomy and I never want to get out of bed. However as we leave the cold behind and say hello to the warmth of Spring one thing I will miss is all the comfort food that we enjoyed during Winter. 

One such example is the all-time favourite Budae-Jjigae! 

This translates to army-base stew and I think is more popular in Korean towns in Western countries rather than in Korea itself (as I didn't see this anywhere when I went to Korea??)  - correct me if I'm wrong! I know a lot of my Korean friends eat this at home and so one day I decided to do an easy, step-by-step walkthrough.

Less words + more pictures = win for everyone! 

1. Empty hot pot on the burner.

2. Add white radish (can find this at any Asian grocery store and also western ones, it's a long, big white vegetable)

3. Add kimchi (I use store-bought from Asian grocery stores as it's Korean-made and much better than what I could make...also less time consuming)

4. Add sliced green onions / scallions

5. Add your choice of mushrooms...I went with enoki

6. ...and button mushrooms

7. Start adding your choices of meat. I started with veal frankfurts 

8. Spam...I also added tofu in this step! 

9. ...and more meat, I added fish tofu and also fish balls with roe inside (my favourite!!)

10. Vegetables...my choice was good old bok choy :) 

11. Noodles - I added Korean potato starch noodle.

12. ...and of course RAMEN. I used half a packet of the noodles from Shin Ramyun

13. ...add a few more ingredients (hot pepper paste mix, stock/broth) and in a few minutes...

(hope this GIF works, first time trying!!)

Thanks for reading and let me know if this is something you guys eat regularly too in the cold Winter months! Or suggestions for other recipes - I'm open to any comments and feedback of what you want to see more of.

@phamished xx


Sort:  

Delicious food, it looks like a hearty meal right there. I am getting hungry just looking at it cook! :P

Haha thanks @rxtro ! It sure was making me hungry as I was posting it too

I love this!! Sour and spicy, my favorite!!

I know me too @snakeonthemoon !! It's so easy to make and perfect for sharing with friends, always my go-to meal when we've got people over :). Thanks for stopping by !

I love the gifs, makes me think its cooking in front of me :)

Haha that's exactly what I thought too! Makes for a more interactive post ;)

Mmmmm! Definitely something I would try ! I have never made it , and wow you sure put a lot of stuff in there , looks delicious !! Upped and resteemed as well for my @momskitchen foodie followers ! Will try to awatch for more in followers feed ! Thanks for sharing !😋😋😋💕👍

It was delicious and you should definitely give it a go! Some people may not be a fan of the meat options, but there's nothing to say you can't add 'real' meat like chicken, pork etc or just make it completely vegetarian!

Thank you very much for the upvote and resteem, really appreciate the support since I'm still new here :). Definitely keep an eye out as I'll be posting another recipe soon! @phamished xx

Awesome ! And your very welcome!👍👍👍

@phamished excellent and healthy recipe with mushrooms.... Vegetables..
.making it very healthy thanks for sharing

Hey @kenhudoy thank you! Haha I like to think it's relatively healthy...the fish balls, frankfurts and spam probably not so much but I try to focus on the greens and mushrooms when eating ;) thanks for stopping by!

sure...mushrooms and greens are always my healthy choice... welcome and find time to check my blog posts too

I will do! Keep an eye out as I've got a few more recipes I plan to post :)

Sure i do expect your comments too

looks healthy to me

I love this dish because you can make it as healthy (or not) as you want !

Yes it is...let's keep steeming hot 😋

Congratulations @phamished! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This looks amazing. We were near 89 Fahrenheit today... but, that wouldn’t stop me from cooking this. Thanks, I am going to try this weekend. I will let you know if it turns out as amazing as this looks!

Thank you! Haha don't worry I've been guilty of making this when it's warm outside too :P. You might need these details to for the final step which I skipped over :

Red pepper mixture:

  • 2 tbps Korean red pepper paste
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 1/2 teaspoon of sugar

Mix !

Broth: you can make your own from seaweed and anchovies or I've even used store bought vegetable stock (I find chicken or beef can be overpowering)

Good luck and let me know how it goes!

Congratulations @phamished! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great thanks!

Everything is nice, but but you do not have Asian food, you can see that it is delicious and I like the dish in the serpa that moves as you did it

Hi @danijel1984 - not exactly sure what you mean but I think this could definitely be classified as 'Asian' food! Thank you for the comment and yes haha I did enjoy the GIF too as it does look like that in real life :)

Holy macaroni!

I understand now that i never will be able to stay long in your room before i have to get something to eat.
Even if my food always will be a disappointment after seeing your food.. :)

On my way to the kitchen now.. ;)

I'm sure your food isn't a disappointment at all but thank you very much for the comment. I hope you get a chance to make it, it's super easy and so delicious - not to mention it feeds a lot of people so perfect for groups!

What a savory and soul satisfying dish for cold weather!

It certainly is, I don't think there are many other dishes out there that are so simple to make and yet SO satisfying in the cold (except maybe cup-a-soup?? but I think this beats the pants off that ;))

Thanks for your comment @chefsteve :) looking forward to seeing more of your stuff around the foodie scene here on Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49