How To Make Delicious Cream Cheese Chicken Taquitos

in #recipe7 years ago

Back in college I was addicted to chicken taquitos. I'd buy the frozen kind at the grocery store and warm them up in my toaster oven. As an adult I don't like buying frozen foods because they really aren't that great and are unhealthy with lots of salt and preservatives.

I learned to make my own chicken taquitos a few years ago and they are way better than any frozen brands. I love making huge batches of chicken taquitos and freezing them so I can pull a few out anytime I need a quick snack.

IMG_0693.JPG

The Recipe

Step 1: Cook your Chicken. You need at least 2 boneless chicken breast worth of meat. For my batch, you can see in the picture I cooked a whole chicken. I used half of that for taquitos and the other half for chicken pot pie (another great freezer meal: recipe for another day). I boiled my chicken with half an onion and a few celery stalks so I could get a stock for chicken pot pie. You could just boil the chicken with no additives and it would be tasty.

IMG_0674.JPG

IMG_0675.JPG

Step 2: Once the meat is nice and white (no pink) and fully cooked to your liking you will shred the chicken. I just used my fingers but you could also use two forks to pull apart the meat.

IMG_0679.JPG

Step 3: In a pot on medium high mix one 8 oz package of cream cheese, 1/2 cup of water, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp cumin, and 1 tsp chili powder. The cream cheese will break down into a sauce. Add the shredded chicken and cook until all the water cooks out.

IMG_0678.JPG

Step 4: Construct your taquito!

  • Put a tortilla down flat.

IMG_0680.JPG

  • Put a bit of cheese down in the middle of the tortilla.

IMG_0681.JPG

  • Spoon down some chicken mixture.

IMG_0684.JPG

  • Roll em up!

IMG_0690.JPG

Step 5: Here you need to decide what you'll freeze and what you'll cook. If you want to eat them then continue to next step. If you want to freeze any then bag them up in a ziplock and freeze. To cook a frozen one you will put it in the microwave 40 seconds then follow the next steps.

Step 6: You can cook these in the oven or in pan. You can bake them at 400 degrees for 10 minutes until slightly brown. Or you can brown them in a pan (just flip them when one side gets brown). If cooking a large batch then I stick them in the oven. If only cooking one or two I use a pan.

IMG_0692.JPG

Eat plain, with salsa, or a cheese dipping sauce

Happy Eating!!


follow me marx rab.jpg

Sort:  

Girl where did you get my recipe? It's from Mexico! Are you a little Spanish? Lol you executed this steem so well I love it xxx

Thank you! I just tried different things out and came up with the recipe. I might have a few Spanish ancestors somewhere in my family. lol. You never know.

Well we are twins on here and I'm 100% Hispanic! Lol

lol. I'll fix you up a plate and send them your way!

Awesome, hope they keep fresh on their way to Australia

Hello, Taica here. I am doing the selection of the most underrated posts and share it with my followers and the Steem community. I think that there is too much good content on Steemit which remains overlooked everyday and lost in the blockchain.

Here you can see my latest report containing your post, which I’ve also upvoted.

https://steemit.com/chainbb-general/@taica/taicas-selection-8-share-moments-steem-life

If you like this post you can say thank you by upvoting and following me.

All the best @taica

Thanks for listing me in your post. I really appreciate it! Neat list.

wow...you just got me salivating. am steeming hot now...hahaha
nice one..keep it flowing

do visit my blog and find my family short story... @kenhudoy
thanks for sharing

Thanks for the recipe. So nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57653.41
ETH 3122.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41