How To Make An Easy Cheese Sauce That Goes Great With Mac n Cheese, Broccoli, and More

in #recipe7 years ago

My recipe for cheese sauce is incredibly tasty and easy to make. I love mac n cheese, broccoli and cheese, asparagus and cheese...and so many more dishes I can't list them all. My recipe for cheese sauce can be changed and tweaked easily to use different cheeses, different milk, and more to have a variety of tastes. I usually just use good old 2% milk but sometimes I use buttermilk or canned cream. Typically cheddar is my favorite cheese but I've used edam, jack, American, and other flavors of cheese. This recipe is a great base for mixing flavors. All you need is butter, flour, milk, cheese, and salt/pepper.

Step One: Melt about 3 teaspoons of butter in a skillet.

IMG_6328.JPG

Step Two: When the butter is bubbling add 3 tablespoons of flour and mix it into the butter.

IMG_6330.JPG

Step Three: After the butter and flour are combined and bubbling add 2 cups of milk, a little at a time. Let the mixture thicken a bit before you add more milk.

IMG_6333.JPG

Step Four: One the sauce is as thick as you'd like it (not too runny, not too clumpy) add a handful of shredded cheese. Again, you can use whatever kind you like. Cheddar is the cheese I always have on hand at home.

IMG_6334.JPG

Step Five: Salt and pepper the mixture to your own personal taste.

Step Six: Pour whatever you are eating it with in the pan with the sauce. I used asparagus tonight. The sauce sticks to the pan so pouring your noodles, vegetables, etc. allows the sauce to stick to them and you don't lose as much cheese sauce to sticking of the pan.

IMG_6336.JPG

IMG_6337.JPG

Like I said, this is a great sauce that you can play around with for different flavors. The first two steps are also the beginnings of gravy. Take the butter and flour and instead of adding milk, add beef or chicken stock to get gravy. It's amazing how a little butter and flour can make so many sauces!


follow me marx rab.jpg

Sort:  

This looks good. I like a little cheese on veggies for a light dinner.

It is a good sauce. Cheese is always good on veggies.

Thank You for sharing this recipe :) I have been wanting to make my own sauce for awhile and wasn't sure how ::)) Much appreciated :) I upvoted and Re-steemed

ThankS for reSTEEMinG THIS ... @westerngurl !!! - )))

a Bachelor here ... and, i LOVE a GooD CheesE SaucE - ))

      • ... i've all-w-ays wondered ??? - )))

.. and, am embarassed NOW at how EASY it IS - )))
(( blushing )) ... ha ha )))

ThankS @marxrab !!! - )))
... keep my STOMACH 'in' MinD as YOU POST -))))

.. ha ha )))

LOVELOVELOVE )))
greb'Z )

... PumpeD & reSTEEMed !! - ))

Thank you!!! I'm glad I could show you my recipe. It is a good cheese sauce. Glad you are so pumped!

WooP WooP !!! - )))
.. ha ha )))

Thank you so much for the resteem! I appreciate it. It's a very easy sauce to make. Glad I could show you how.

I will help any time I can . and I appreciated your Blog :

Thank you. Will have this in mind. Yesterday it did not work. But now I know.

I hope it works the next time you try it! Good luck and thanks for reading.

The roux is key! looks delicious, I use cream with mine, however it is a smidge rich! Yours looks delicious!

Thank you! It can be rich with cream and buttermilk. Sharp cheddar is also rich. It's good with macaroni though.

I will keep that in mind! Thank you!

Cheese is alaways good!
Good share:)
I'm following you and upvote
I also have a cooking blog. Come to my steemit!

Thank you! I'll be sure to stop by your profile and check out your work. I'm a fan of other cooks.

This Is SO SIMPLE....I live and die by cheese, and cheese sauces.! (I may add more to it though, for kicks)

I will definitely be using this like Tomorrow...and def resteeming this lol

Thank you so much for the resteem! If you like a little kick you could add a little paprika instead of salt/pepper. It gives it a little spice and makes a great dip for chips and nachos.

I'm gonna remember that, I was hoping to figure something out for nachos:)

for extra flavor just add 'eye of newt'

Cheese makes everything tasty so I'm sure that newt eye would taste good with some cheddar!

I had broccoli and cheese as a side tonight, I am so doing your recipe 🧀Thanks girl! Enjoy your weekend!

Hope you enjoyed your dinner! Enjoy your weekend as well.

Looks good. I'll have to try it. I always struggle with cheese sauce.

Some things you might want to try to intensify the flavor are English dry mustard, Worcestershire sauce or even soy sauce in very small amounts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57400.65
ETH 3108.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42