My recipe for VEGAN CINNAMON MONKEY ROLLS! Very easy recipe that I put together in a breeze. Lots of gooey pictures inside!

in #recipe7 years ago (edited)

gooey

These vegan rolls have a funky monkey topping made of peanut butter, bananas, cinnamon, raisins, and coconut oil. Yummy Yummy, and oh so comforting! I had a craving for cinnamon rolls one sunny morning, and had yet to make them since switching to a vegan diet, what came out was my version of a moist and flaky cinnamon roll with gooey monkey topping.

Baking and sweets in general have always been a comfort for me, it is what got me into the kitchen to help my grandma when I was younger, and inspired me to be a chef. I do not do as much baking now, but when I do it is sure to be a special treat. I whipped this batch up in no time with my monkey mind and you can too. I do not like to put to exact of ingredient amounts on my recipes, I like there to be room for your own interpretation. I hope you enjoy!

1

The Dough:
1c Non Dairy Milk, I used unsweetened almond
3T Coconut oil
1 Packet Active Yeast
1T Sugar, I used coconut sugar
1/2t sea salt
3 + Cups Flour
Cinnamon sprinkle

Cinnamon Sugar mixture (make this ratio depending on your own taste buds)

Gooey Monkey Topping:
2 Bananas, slightly brown and chunky
1 Spoonful of peanut butter, to taste
Raisins
1 T Coconut oil
Cinnamon to taste, I like a lot!
Pinch of Sea Salt

-So First lets set beautiful intentions to show respect to our food and to fill it with love and light, caring for it every step of the way. Yummy Yummy.

-So now we gather all of our ingredients and materials such as a large bowl, measuring toll, mixing tools and a pan to bake them (I used a 7x5). I would also turn your oven on now if it is not warm in your house and/or it is not very sunny outside, so you can use the warmth to help activate your yeast, otherwise it could stay off a bit.

-In a bowl combine about 3 cups of flour, your salt, cinnamon, and sugar. Set aside

  • In a small saucepan add your non-airy milk, 3T coconut oil, and sprinkle of cinnamon. Heat this until about really warm/hot bath water temperature, not boiling, about 111 degrees. Not to hot or it will kill the yeast please. In a large bowl add the yeast, and then pour the heated mixture over it in the bowl. Let this sit about 5-10 minutes, depending on how warm your area is. Once it is nice and bubbly and fluffy looking it is ready.

  • Start scooping in your flour mixture now, forming it into a nice ball that is not too sticky, you may need to add more flour or non-dairy milk to get it to a good consistency for you and the flour/milk combo you choose. Once it has come together place in a lightly oil bowl, roll over to cover top of dough as well.

-Place in a warm place for them to rise, and turn your oven on to 350. Remember your warm place could be the top of your oven. I placed mine outside and they soaked up the radiant sunshine. About 30 minutes- 1hr depending on your yeast and heat.

-Once it has about doubled in size, take it out of the bowl, and pat it out into a nice rectangular shape, not too thin or thick. Brush on some melted coconut oil, and sprinkle on your cinnamon sugar.

sprinkle

  • Roll from the bottom up into a nice log

roll

-Then carefully slice into rolls, and place into a lightly oiled pan

rollss

-Cover and place in your warm area to let rise again

ready

-Then uncover and bake for about 25-30 min

smile

-While these are baking you can start your topping

-Combine your bananas, peanut butter, coconut oil, cinnamon and salt in a small pan. Cook until the oil is melted, and everything is warm and combined.

topping

-Pour this onto your cinnamon rolls when they come out. Serve warm and with a drizzle of maple or honey would be lovely! Coconut Flakes would also be a nice addition

last

Enjoy, you funky monkeys!

~Kerri ❤

I am grateful for you! I appreciate you! I love you!
May we all be abundant and free.

I'm excited to share my photos, poems, other recipes, art, reviews, and adventures with this beautiful community; follow me here and on Facebook to catch them all!

Donate via Bitcoin if you wish: 1NMbeSTg7Bh8pHir9XZ7iBeCTHZEpdHv9Q

Sort:  

This looks so delicious

Thank you! :)

looks delicious, gooey, and good!

Thank you thank you!
: D

Woow, good cuisine
good post

Thank you! :D

My goodness this these cinnamon rolls look mouth watering. My favorite part is the topping with the peanut butter. I absolutely love peanut butter!

Thank you! I love peanut butter too!! :D

Lovely dish and mouthwatering. Just up my street. X

Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed it! : D

I'm so making these! Thanks for sharing ;)

You are very welcome :)

This looks disgustingly delicious and dangerous.
Perfect for me~

Hi, I just featured you in a blog post about who to follow if you're vegan or plant based :) would be great if you could check it out and have a look at some of the other people on the list, I'd love to start growing the plant eater community!

Wonderful, thank you so much! I will look into everyone : D

Looks delicious. Very good job.
Upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71353.04
ETH 3819.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51