Hashbrown Casserole: Recipe for the Busy Bee

in #recipe7 years ago (edited)

I struggle to find the time I need to cook. So, today I'm sharing a very easy, tasty recipe packed full of protein and complex carbohydrates that can either feed a bunch of hungry bellies in one sitting or allow you to easily freeze extra portions for future meals.

Prep Time

15 minutes or however fast you can brown your meat and dump everything in the pan.

Bake Time

30 minutes at 350 degrees until the casserole doesn't jiggle because of raw eggs.

Ingredients

1 pound of sausage (pork or turkey)
1 pack of hashbrowns (30 oz)
1 pack of cheddar cheese (8 oz)
1 dozen eggs
1/4 teaspoon of salt

Literally, everything in this photo is used. 😁 No need to measure. Just layer them all in a pan and bake!
IMG_20180126_111236_1152x864.jpg

Hashbrown Casserole Recipe

Preheat oven to 350.

Brown sausage

I used pork sausage. However, if you want to go leaner, use turkey sausage.
IMG_20180126_113250_1152x864.jpg

Soften the frozen hashbrowns

Add about 1/4 cup of water and cook hashbrowns just long enough to soften them. My sister-in-law doesn't even soften them...she places the frozen hashbrowns in pan... extending the bake time by about 5 minutes.
IMG_20180126_113732_1152x864.jpg

Put hashbrown in 13 x 9 in baking pan

IMG_20180126_114726_1152x864.jpg

Place cooked sausage on top of hashbrowns

IMG_20180126_114835_1152x864.jpg

Mix 12 eggs and 1/4 teaspoon of salt

IMG_20180126_115216_1152x864.jpg

IMG_20180126_115236_1152x864.jpg

Evenly distribute eggs on top of sausage

IMG_20180126_115314_1152x864.jpg

IMG_20180126_115357_1152x864.jpg

Pour the entire bag of cheddar cheese on top

IMG_20180126_115610_1152x864.jpg

Place in oven and bake for 35 minutes (or until cheese is brown and eggs are cooked)

Poke it and see if the eggs are cooked.
IMG_20180126_123255_1152x864.jpg

Cut into squares

IMG_20180126_123421_1152x864.jpg

Add your favorite hot sauce or salsa

IMG_20180126_123643_1152x864.jpg

Freeze extra squares for future meals

I'll move what I need to the refrigerator the night before... or I can just microwave it a little bit longer the next day.

IMG_20180129_201921_1152x864.jpg

Previous Relevant Posts

This particular post required lots of photos. Photos can slow down the load time of posts. So, I'm going to share 2 previous posts on how I resized and compressed the photos I used.

Final Thoughts

If you try this recipe out, please let me know what you think!

karencarrens Steemit footer.gif

Sort:  

Dang, this looks good. Plus, I'm really hungry at the moment. So this is definitely going on my list of recipes to try. It looks like something our dogs would enjoy, too.

(Yes, they each get a plate of their own supper stuff with us. Meat, vegetables, even dessert sometimes. They are spoiled totally rotten. If we try to ignore them, they whine and carry on until we give in. And they even eat their own hot sauce and salsa. I'm astonished at that, too, but living in New Mexico, we're not sure food comes any other way!)

Cw even told me just now we have all these things in the refrigerator!! Game on!!

Hey E! I completely understand. My dog loves people food too. It drives my husband bananas that I give in. It's just hard to not give in to my dog's big brown eyes and eager expressions.

@catweasel doesn't mind unless I make him share his plate of food with the dogs. Then he gets a little surly. But through the years I've taught him that he can take extra, because he'll have to share a couple of bites with everyone else -- just to stop the sobbing. Then, I only have to deal with his sobbing. Which is frankly, easier.

You have trained @catweasel well! LOL

That sure looks tasty - and what is good is that I think even I can make this recipe ! I will have to give this a go sometime

Definitely! All you have to do is dump everything in one pan and bake. How are you?! Please tell Damira that I said hi!

I'm good thanks ! I sure will :) it's snowy here now and minus degrees. Quite unusual for being here

I'm good thanks ! I sure will :) it's snowy here now and minus degrees. Quite unusual for being here

I am definitely making it this weekend

That's awesome! I hope you like it! Be sure to leave your feedback! :)

Wow this is genius...i would add some pumpkin and some parmesan to it...will give some nice cheesy smell and good texture...yum yum...think it goes well with a bit of Moscato

Now @perennial, that's a great idea with the parmesan! Definitely creative with the pumpkin! LOL.

That looks like a sweet breakfast, or lunch. I'd probably enjoy that at anytime of the day. Love the idea of freezing it for later. I love cheddar small. Mmm...

I just defrosted some from the freezer, added extra cheddar cheese on top and microwaved it. So yummy!

Every time I read a recipe that allows you to freeze it for meals throughout the week. I always think that is a great idea and that I need to do it, but I've yet to do it. I have to get rolling on that lol

Damn! Why have i never thought to make this lol! Thanks for the well detailed instructions and pictures @karencarrens Looks amazing

giphy (1).gif

LOL @cryptoj215! I never thought about it either until I showed up at my sister-in-law's house for Christmas this year. I was shocked at how good it was. So far, I've made it for 3 times... including for my sister's kids... who gobbled it all up. It's crazy easy.

@karencarrens You had me at "hash browns"... How I missed this post is beyond me :) Thanks to @enchantedspirit for highlighting it... So as I was saying, you had me at hash browns, sausage, eggs and cheese... oh wait this looks like the perfect recipe!! Yummy!!

Hi @redwellies! It's seriously one of the easiest things to have in the freezer when you want a quick snack. I actually just defrosted a piece, added cheese and microwaved it. Ate it with Cholula sauce. 😋Hope you get a chance to make it soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61937.20
ETH 3004.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49