Zucchini Relish

in #recipe6 years ago

IMG_20180821_120125[1].jpg

In on of my garden posts I showed the zucchini I was growing. That brought up some discussions here and there about zucchini and a lot of people mentioned how they like this squashy vegetable.

I was able to harvest some of the zucchinis which ended up being too much to eat at once. We had gave a couple to my mother in law, we had some on the bbq, fried some and even had it in some soup. Usually in the fall and winter I tend to make some zucchini bread. Oh it is so yummy.

But this time I would like to share a recipe I have that my great aunt has passed to me. Some awfully good relish.

It is great to make when you have too many zucchinis on hand and perfect for the times when eating hamburgers, hot dogs and even with crackers for a snack.

Ok let's get to it, back in the kitchen before I open a jar and eat it straight from with a ladle for a spoon.

What you will need:

  • Food processor
  • Zucchinis
  • Onions
  • Coarse Salt
  • Green pepper
  • Red pepper
  • White vinegar
  • Sugar
  • Celery seed
  • Cornstarch
  • Dry mustard
  • Tumeric
  • Nutmeg
  • A large stainless steel bowl
    *Canning jars
  • A large pot with cover

Ok so take out that food processor with the grater fitting. You will need 5 cups of grated zucchini. Depending on the size of your zucchini, you may need about 4 of them but have more just incase.
You will also need 2 cups of ground onions.

For the next part, put the zucchini and onions in the large bowl and add 2 1/2 tbsp of coarse salt. Mix it and let it stand overnight on the counter.

While having the food processor handy, put 1 green and 1 red pepper in there. It will be ready for the next morning. Easy peasy.

Now while I was doing this I was using my mommy brain rather than my thinking brains and didn't take pictures of this part. I know, it sucks, but I do have a few to share with the rest of the process.

The next morning, rinse the zucchini and onions. Then put it in the pot along with the peppers. Add 1 1/4 cup of vinegar and 2 1/2 cups of sugar.

Ok here comes the pictures, you ready? :P

IMG_20180821_104717[1].jpg

It's like snow.

Alright so the next step would be to add the spices.

1 tbsp of celery seed

IMG_20180821_104937[1].jpg

Woah, ok that's a bit trippy on the eyes.

2 tsps of cornstarch (don't do like me, I added 2 tbsps. Eeek. Mommy brain)

IMG_20180821_105031[1].jpg

1 1/2 tsp dry mustard

IMG_20180821_105145[1].jpg

1 1/2 tsp tumeric

IMG_20180821_105305[1].jpg

1 1/2 tsp nutmeg

IMG_20180821_110815[1].jpg

Mix everything up and heat on High

IMG_20180821_111001[1].jpg

Bring it to a boil and boil it for 30 minutes. Put that timer on so you don't forget incase you have a mommy mushy brain like I do.

IMG_20180821_112245[1].jpg

Remember all these multiple pictures that may perhaps be annoying is to make up for the ones I forgot to take. :D

While the relish is boiling, remember to wash and sterilize the jars and lids. Unless you have like a pressure canner or something that makes it easier.

To jar it, I just fill the jars right away after boiling and tightening the lids on really tight, within 5 minutes or a bit more the jars start popping. The sound of being jarred.

The recipe doesn't make a large batch. I got regular sized jars and 3 small. I think it's a good amount for relish.

I hope that this can be of use to you and that you enjoy it if you make it, and if you do, share your thoughts and pictures in the comments section, or make a blog of it and tag me so I can check out what you made :D

Thanks for checking out my blog ;) Enjoy your day.

Sort:  

This is perfect. I have a little glut of courgettes coming right along. I also love relish!

Sweet! Let me know what you think if you have the time to make it. Im telling you it is yummy!

That's interesting, never would have thought of relish. I like zucchinis already. Grilled. But also in zucchini bread. Yum.....

I will make sure to share the recipe the next time I make some ^_^

Oh, the Mommy brain! Yes! I have that too! This looks tasty! We have a few zucchini growing in, but not enough to can. Next year will be better. 😁

If only I could share some with you. I believe I will have plenty to go around. I am just so glad to not be the only one with those struggles! <3 Someone that can understand ^_^

@foxyspirit Haha! Thanks anyway! And yes, that's why @steemitmamas is so great. We really all do understand! ❤️

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Thank you so much! I went and checked out your post, a lot of great blogs you shared there.

This looks yummmm @foxyspirit. Thank you for sharing the recipe. Do you think it will work with cucumbers? And how long can yours keep in jars?

It will but I am unsure of the cooking time as cucumbers are not the same as zucchini. Just be sure that it is cooked but not over cooked. Like not mushy.
When the jars are sealed they last months. And because of the vinegar and such it can last a long time in the fridge after opening. Not sure exactly how long since the jar empties before it ever goes bad but it does last quite a bit. I'd say over a month for sure.

Ah ok.. thank you @foxyspirit. Will try and see :)

That's something new to me, didn't know we can do that using zucchini!
Thanks for sharing!

There are so many uses for zucchini, I can't even begin to list it. It is an amazing vegetables.

I can see that now! Lol

great job! keep up the good work!

wow🍴what a great recipe🍲

Thank you. I'm tellin ya, it is worth a try ;)

.... and I always asked how my mother did this :-)

Thanks for the great „how-to“ 👍, how to handle the extra long zucchinis . 😜

Oh and how funny, so you see us again :-), and no, I do not stalk you😂😂, just entered yesterday the cool #steemitbloggers group.

Right on! Welcome to the group :D You'll love it, I'm sure about it. Thank you for stopping by, hoping this post may be of use to you in the future :P

It will very soon :-)

I got this crazy formed zucchini 😅😀
B1A3F39C-CC34-4A97-9630-2065A6493B08.jpeg

Got it from a customer as a present :-)

How in the world did it get like that?
Kind of how they make square watermelons?

Well if you do make a relish, let me know what you think. I would love to hear your feedback on it ^_^

I really don’t know 😂 :-D

Yep I heard about that square Watermelon 🍉 ... very strange.

Oh and of course I will give you a feedback, when I have made a relish with your recipe and this genetic manipulation zucchini 😂😂😂 ✌️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87