Romanian Pickled cabbage recipe!

in #recipe8 years ago (edited)

Hello my dear Steemit friends!

So for today I worked on making some pickled cabbage.
Ok, but first I must give some props to @bleujay and @englishtchrivy because they found out what my next post will be about!


The post was this one: https://steemit.com/gardening/@cynetyc/breakfast-and-digging-in-my-garden-part-2
Well done guys !

With all that being said lets start our work!

We start by cleaning the bad parts of the cabbage and cut the end part of it.

Then we remove the stub of the cabbage. (In romanian stub - cotor)



It took me about 1 hour and right after that I had to store the cabbage in another place.


Note: In the photo im saying -Ohhh!

I end it up with a big castle!

Even my cat was looking strange on my castle...

For the next part we will need:

  • dill
  • horseradish
  • quince
  • beet
  • pepper
  • corn
  • salt
  • water

I took some dried dill and cut with a hand axe the end of it.

I took a blue barrel and trown inside corn and dill.

Meanwhile I cut the beet

Now we must put the salt inside and for that we used romanian course salt


The salt was very hard so I had to kick it with a blund weapon, savagely!

Next step is to dilute the salt in water.

Now we take the cabbage and we put in the place where the stub was some corn and cover it like a blanket of salt.


We cut some quince and mix with the pepper and horse raddish and put between the cabbage inside the barrel.


Over all the ingrediants we trow warm water mixt with salt until it will cover them all!

That moment when someone caught you doing something bad!

Please let me explain!

Ok so for the last part boys and girls we have to blow really hard!
For that just take a hose that has about 1 m (aprox) and after you clean it (because you dont want to get herpes) you will put it inside the barrel and start blowing with all your power, or at least until you will see some stars!

Here I followed my own advice!

I think I achieved MACH 3!

Now cover the barrel and wait, but remember from time to time to keep blowing in the mixtures inside, doing this the salt will dilute and it will help the fermentation process.

Thank you very much for reading this post!

Sort:  

Bravo! teacher, my friend @cynetyc excellent job congratulations

Thank you very much @jlufer and I must say, awesome gif there!

Thank you for posting @cynetyc. Lovely explanation and pictures. A mountain of cabbages....loads of work. Thank you for giving this tutorial on how to pickle cabbage. It is a must try.

Just a wee bit late to the party ....thank you for giving bleujay a mention.
Thank you for your support.

You are never to late here! Thank you so much for your kind words!

That was the most entertaining show about cabbage I've ever seen. Good job!

Thank you very much @nonameslefttouse, I am glad you liked it !

@cynetyc thanks - this give me the giggles before I go to work. Glad I bumped into this for my last post for today. So @bluejay and I had a hunch huh?
How about a dare? Join this? No haste - this is till Sunday ;). Have a great weekend!

Oh yeah, you and @bluejay where correct!
And...on a side note...
I started to prepare...for the culinary challenge...
I am little bit excited ... and I hope that tomorow I can upload it to Steemit!

Thank you olso @olga.maslievich for visiting my blog, I really apreaciate it!

Great post and idea just seen it!Upvoted and followed.Keep them coming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56769.00
ETH 2325.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36