Cook With Me ~ 1 ~ Whole Wheat Pumpkin Flax Bread

in #recipe7 years ago (edited)

This is a recipe I created many years ago. I have made many hundreds of this bread in the past. It has been very popular with my family and my friends. Just thought I would like to share my recipe with my Steemit friends. :-)'

037.JPG

Whole Food Diet

We know that a whole food diet is a key to a long and healthy life because it's packed with natural vitamins and phytochemicals. It's sad that modern food processing removes most nutrients. Therefore, whenever I cook, I use as much whole food as possible not only for its nutritional value but also for its richer flavor. In this recipe, I use pureed whole pumpkin (with skin and seeds), ground whole wheat berries, ground whole flax seeds, and raw sugar.

Fresh Ingredients

In addition, I like to use the freshest ingredients possible. For example, I buy wheat berries and grind them into flour right before I cook. Otherwise, nutrients decrease rapidly after the wheat berries are broken down into flour.

Steps

Today I am going to show you how I make a Whole Wheat Pumpkin Flax Bread.

  • I bake an uncut whole pumpkin in the oven for 2 hours at 300F / 150 C or until it is caramelized for its aromatic flavor.
  • Then I cut it into smaller pieces and puree them, skin and seeds included for a better nutritional value! (remember I like to use as much whole food as possible.)
  • This recipe also uses flax seeds, which I grind right before I mix all the ingredients together. By the way, flax seeds are a very good source of Omega-3 and Omega-6 fatty acids.
  • Mix all ingredients well and pour into a pan. I use a 7x11 inches pan. You can use any bakeware you have including muffin pans or cupcake makers. Bake at 350F for 50 minutes or until golden brown. Enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 2 3/4 cup pureed pumpkin
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup whole milk
  • 3/4 cup ground flax seeds
  • 1 cup raw sugar
  • 2 teaspoon cinnamon powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ginger powder
  • 1 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 3/4 cup walnuts

cup = 236ml, teaspoon = 5ml

This pumpkin bread is full of flavor from fresh ground whole food ingredients including whole pumpkin, whole wheat berries, and whole flax seeds. Besides superior wholesome nutritional value, its taste is awesome!

Please let me know if you have tried it. I would love to know how it turns out for you. Thank you for cooking with me today!

Sort:  

ANd I have ALL these ingredients in the house right now. No need to venture out into the sub-zero cold.

THANKS for the recipe!

That's wonderful, @goldendawne! Nothing is better than a warm pumpkin bread fresh out of the oven on a chilly cold day. Keep warm and let me know how it turns out! Thank you for your comment. :-)

Yum! May I link this article and feature your username @cheneats in the next issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter? Let me know! Thanks!

Absolutely! Thank you, @kiaraantonoviche, for stopping by!

Awesome thanks! I'll send you a link to the newsletter when it is published!

Awesome! Thanks again :-)

Happy Sunday! This comment is to inform you that your article has been linked and featured in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you!

Thank you! Happy Sunday to you, too :-)

That's interesting that you use the skin and seeds too..

Any time I've made pumpkin bread I only use the meat of the pumpkin..

I've tried roasting pumpkin seeds.. unsuccessfully I might add..

It's just me :-) I like experiencing eating food as whole food including the skin and seeds. If it is not too bad, I eat them anyway because most likely the skin and seeds have more nutrients than the meat.

About roasting pumpkin seeds:

  • Preheat oven to 300 F /150C.
  • Toss seeds in a bowl with the melted butter, salt and any seasonings you would like.
  • Spread the seeds in a single layer on a baking sheet.
  • Bake for about 45 minutes or until golden brown.
  • Stir occasionally.

Looks delicious.my friend .@cheneats.. I'll try this, but not now Lol... I'm so bad at cooking.

Thank you, @yagoub! Cooking is not hard if you watch others do it first then follow a recipe. Unlike in the old days, you learn it from your grandmom or mom. Today there are so many cooking instructional videos online available so it's not hard to watch it first. :-) Take care, my friend!

AJ picked your post @ for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Congratulations @cheneats! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42