Sweet Mango Chicken Curry

in #recipe5 years ago

Tonight, I decided to make a mango-chicken curry. I am normally an eyeball the ingredients type of cook, but I made an exception and actually measured and wrote down what I used this time. I always adapt what I cook to whatever I have on hand.

Warning, this recipes makes a lot of food. I like batch cooking because I am a busy person.

IMG_3857.jpg

In my opinion, this dish tastes better the next day. It can be served on rice or pasta. I personally prefer rice. A mixed-rice blend (ancient grains, wild-rice) is the best, but I only had white rice on hand this time.

Ok, let's get started...

IMG_3822.jpg

Chicken: I used 3 drum sticks and 3 thighs. If you're curious. Yes, the chicken here in Mexico is a different colour. It looks more yellow. I prefer to cook from frozen. I like to take my time cooking, and well, that buys me more time.

Use a little cooking spray in the bottom of the pan. Cook on the lowest or second-lowest setting. It will keep the chicken more tender and juicy. Plus, it will give the chicken enough time to cook while you work on the other ingredients.

IMG_3823.jpg

You may notice I am just using a two-burner stove. I'm a minimalist, and I just didn't feel the need to buy a big stove.

While the chicken cooks. Chop up two large onions. You can use any color of onion. I just had white onions on hand.

IMG_3826.jpg

Add them to the pan. Next, add, 1 bulb of garlic. Yes, an entire bulb.

IMG_3827.jpg

Press, or crush the garlic and add it to the pan.

IMG_3828.jpg

You can add a green pepper to this recipe. I didn't have one, so I added some jalapeno instead. How much you add really depends on how spicy you like your food. I didn't want mine super spicy. So, I just used a little.

IMG_3842.jpg

Chop and add to the pan.

IMG_3843.jpg

Next, peel, and chop up 3 mangos. My mangos were super ripe, which is OK. If your mangos are more firm cut them in chunks.

IMG_3825.jpg

Very very ripe mangos. But, still perfect for this dish. Don't put them in the pan. Set them aside for now.

IMG_3838.jpg

So, normally I would use 6 mangos, 3 ripe and 3 not (for texture). But I only had 3 mangos this time, so I threw in 2 apples and 1 orange instead. Why not, right?

IMG_3829.jpg

Peel and chop the apples. Set them aside.

IMG_3836.jpg

Peel the orange. Peel the segments too. Set them aside.

IMG_3835.jpg

So, normally, I would add more raisins than this(up to a cup). But, I only had 1/4 cup, so that's what I put in.

IMG_3839.jpg

You'll need 2 tsp of cumin. I used whole(dried), you could, of course, use ground or fresh and adjust the quantity. And, you'll need 4 Tablespoons of curry powder.

IMG_3844.jpg

Next, two tablespoons of chopped ginger. I used jarred ginger(the kind you would eat with sushi). You could, of course, use fresh but, in that case, I'd mince it.

You will also need some coconut cream. You can use coconut milk, but it won't have the same richness. Here is the type I used:

IMG_3846.jpg

I used 2 cups.

IMG_3850.jpg

Ok, now that you have all your ingredients, your chicken is likely fully cooked. Remove it from the pan (if it's cooked).

My pan wasn't big enough for all the ingredients, so I transferred my onions, garlic, and jalapeno to a pot. Then, I added the mango, apple, orange, raisins, and spices. Let it simmer on very low heat(covered).

IMG_3847.jpg

While that is simmering, remove the chicken from the bones. I also removed the skin (which I later fed to my ginormous dog).

IMG_3849.jpg

Cut it up into smaller pieces.

Now add the coconut milk and your chicken to the pot. Heat everything up, stirring it well to blend it.

And that's it. I use a rice-maker to make my rice, which makes it super easy.

Add salt and pepper to taste.

Thank the chickens for their lives and their meat.

IMG_3852.jpg

How many meals this will make will really depend on how much rice you use. My guess is you could easily feed 8-10 hungry people with this.

Ingredients:
Rice of your choice. I used white rice.
Chicken - I used 3 drumsticks and 3 thighs.
Cooking Spray.
1 bulb of garlic, crushed or minced.
1 jalapeno to taste.
3 mangoes, peeled, chopped.
2 apples, peeled, chopped.
1 orange, peeled, segments peeled.
1/4 cup raisins (up to 1 cup).
2 teaspoons cumin (whole dried).
4 Tablespoons curry powder.
2 Tablespoons chopped ginger(jarred).
2 cups of coconut cream.
Salt and pepper to taste.

Prep time: About an hour.

Makes 8-10 large meals when paired with rice.

This curry is quite sweet. So if you don't like sweet food, you're not going to like this.

Buen provecho!

~Akiroq

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

This looks fantastic Akiroq. The chicken does have a different coloration than in this region. That is interesting, and I'm wondering if there is an explanation for this, I'll have to google around and see what I can dig up. After consuming a meal like this, how about some cake for dessert!
Manually curated by @futuremind.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

is it spicy?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Mine wasn't spicy at all. I added very very little jalapeno (as in the picture).

Thank you! I like sweet, I'll try.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50